QotD: Past Five Working Years

How many jobs have you had in the past five years? Where and what did you do? 
Submitted by M.  

So this is 2003-2007, I think.

I've been a Registered Nurse the entire time.

I worked at Duke University Hospital in Durham NC….Home of lots of Basketball and "The Gun and Knife Club"

I worked in the Emergency Department.

I also worked at UNC Hospitals in Chapel Hill NC. There I did Pre-surgical testing which was just about the most boring job I have ever ever had.  I would repeat the same presurgical instructions each day about 20 times.

I did learn alot about OR procedures which helped me a bit.

Then in 2004 I went to Sudan with Medecins Sans Frontieres…and supervised a feeding program…

After that I  went home and was "unemployed" for 2 months. After that MSF sent me to Liberia.

 

After Liberia….

I decided I needed to make some real money.

I did some travel nursing contracts, mostly in NC…Went back to Duke Emergency and am now back to traveling..doing Emergency care of course.

I often feel like the Dunkin Donuts guy from the older  Time to Make the Donuts commericals.

We really do see the same stuff on a daily basis, so the bewildering symptoms that occur to an individual make perfect sense (usually) to the staff, so we have to constantly remind ourselves that just because it isn't new to me doesn't mean it isn't new to the patient. 

Like the Motto of DUke's Life flight…"We are the best part of your worst day"….At least I try to be that best part.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “QotD: Past Five Working Years

Leave a Reply

