Know when to hold em

Know when to fold em….known when to walk away and know when to run….

This Kenny Rogers song that I do not really love has been running through my head all day today.  It's been a terribly unproductive day.

I woke up tired.  I wasn;t too concerned, my plan was to walk the dog and then go back to sleep again.  So, we walked for an hour.  I got home, crawled into bed.  Sleep….nah, instead I tossed and turned and the dog for some inexplicable reason decided to get on the bed with me (He hasn't done this in ages.)

SO I got up. did some stuff…and tried again to go back to sleep.  I kid you not. I am tired.  No sleep.

Eventually I decided to just get it  (meaning the run) over with. Ha! I went out, jogged exactly a quarter of a mile and just abruptly stopped.  There was a strong head wind, my left leg hurt, and I just felt horrid.

I walked the dog for his second walk of the day and decided to have some coffee and go out again….

Again a quarter of a mile.  Then, I stopped.  I think I am just too tired. 

This so annoys me! I have all good intentions but my body is quitting on me.

Alas.  I decided to just pack it in, attempt to get a good nights sleep, and try again tomorro.

Grrrrrr.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

5 thoughts on “Know when to hold em

  1. I hate those days where you've got nothing in the tank. It's a sure sign that you need to rest, whether it's from overdoing it or from being sick. So, hope Monday goes well.

  2. I am proud (ok, maybe not the right word to use for someone I don't actually know but I can't think of anything else right now) that you even gave it more than one go! Days like that usually have me curled up on the couch reading a book with the rest of the world shut out.
    Here's to tomorrow being a better day!

  3. It's just like that some days. For me the thought, 'I'm in it for the long haul' helps. You just get out there the next day. It's just a little blip on the screen of your workout plan.

  4. It's like you said, "You gotta know when to fold em…."
    Sometimes your body knows what you need more than your mind knows what you need. I have this problem all the time – my mind just doesn't want to listen to what my body's trying to say. Get some sleep:) Tomorrow's another day!
    ((HUGS))

Leave a Reply

