Altitude is kicking my….

behind squarely.

Today I decided enough messing about I had the day off and I was going to go and do some running.  My long run precisely.  Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha hah ha ha ha ha.

I "ran" three miles.  I had to stop almost every half mile, sometimes every quarter of a mile to catch my breath.  I may have done better if I had controlled my speed at all, but I didn't seem to be able to get it down to the 12 min mile that I had planned. with the walking my pace did get to one  mile sub 11 min, one mile at 13 min and the third mile at 13:30. Slooow.  

Eventually at mile 2.6 I started to actually have pain in my chest.  I had ridiculous visions of Hape( High Altitude Pulmonary Oedema) occurring in my lungs.  But of course that wasn't happening.  I know too much. I decided to do an even three and stop, but I think if I had had the patience I could have continued and 2 hours later finished out the 9….

Apparently some people have gotten really sick up here, but… for me, Mostly this is manifesting itself in being tired, a little cranky and headaches, as well as the shortness of breath on exertion. 

I am so worried about my race.  My main goal is to enjoy it, finish and not care even if I am one of the last people.

I just wish I could have gotten the 9 done. I would feel a lot more confident.

But…this is the way it is going to be.  Per the staff, my body seems to have adjusted better than several of their travelers, so I wonder how much of this is also a bit mental…

8 weeks until Canyonlands.  Wowee.  I hope I can run it.  Right now even a 2:40 time seems like an OK time.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

7 thoughts on “Altitude is kicking my….

  1. I know exactly how you feel, having moved back and forth from altitude to the flat-lands and then back again many times in my life. It usually takes about four weeks to acclimate to altitude. Don't worry- I am absolutely sure that you will be fine for your upcoming race. In few weeks you will be feeling and running much better.
    Also, don't forget to stay well-hydrated… the insensible losses in a dry climate can amount to quite a bit.
    Good luck!

  2. Altitude training builds stamina, why do you think so many
    go to an altitude camp before they enter a fight so they can build up stamina, there’s
    probably some calculation that would convert a run at altitude in length to a
    run at sea level. You might be doing much better then you think. Just don’t end
    up in emergency, who will take care of you?

  3. I'll second what Ultra'thoner said. Plus, maybe a long, fast walk would suffice as a long run while you acclimate.Where are you moving to next? If you're heading for low altitude, you ought to sign up for a race – you might feel like you were breathing pure oxygen.

  4. ultra….I just woke up with a horrid headaches and myalgias….more water on tap for me…ok so its bottled, I don't want to be drinking whatever chemicals NM has in the water post White sands…

  5. You need to give yourself time to acclimatise – you've got 8 weeks left, that's ages! Before my first half marathon, I'd only run up to 8 miles, and I still managed to finish (and not last!). You'll get there, just try and build up slowly. You'll be fit enough, and you might just surprise yourself.I did my 8 miles last night. Of course, it was on a treadmill, so it doesn't really count compared to your training!

  6. It will get better, it just takes time. When people climb Everest, quite a while is spent at base camp and then higher resting areas to adjust to the higher elevation. It is necessary. You will be okay.

  7. Perhaps you can keep a check on the load you are putting on yourself with a heart rate monitor of some sort? As HB says, once you acclimatised and run the race you should do a race at sea level – it would be a walk in the park!

Leave a Reply

