Finally

I actually Finally ran today.  It was a slowish 2 miler, so almost not even a run, it seemed over before it started (well, so not really).  I'm pleased because I managed a mile and some without getting the altitude winded feeling I've been getting, and that mile included a few little hills.  I am also pleased that I actually ran in 21 degree weather, unusual for me.

Mentally I feel back on track, though physically, I know I am going to now be fighting to catch up to run Canyonlands. 

I'm still doing a lot of coughing and sneezing, so I am at about say 80%  but its a start.  Have not yet regained any of the 5 pounds I dropped while sick so that is good too.

I hope I can put in 2-3 tomorro as well, it being a work day and all.  In addition, I desperately want to get out and photograph.  But of course I must do that early in the morning.  The Mountains are beautiful and uplifting.  I will say this, I still miss my home very very much, even my home region, but I am starting to get more comfortable with this area. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 thoughts on “Finally

  1. Well, it is somewhat warmer out here, but not by much. Raleigh got hit with snow and ice (though mostly north of the city from what I hear) as did my home area yesterday morning and there is supposed to be more on the way tomorrow late afternoon/evening. At least today warmed up a tad bit.
    I am glad to hear you are feeling mostly better and actually got a run in. I got a real walk in this evening which I was proud of. (baby steps!) I look forward to seeing your photos when you get around to them.

  2. Woo hoo for running! Anything you can do is good. It seems to help me when I'm sick to run a little bit, as if it reminds my body that it can't slack off on fighting the cold.Speaking of cold, here in Michigan today's high is 11 degrees with a -14 windchill. I'm about to go spend an hour shoveling the driveway… woo hoo indeed!By the way, thanks for the ER insights in your previous post!

  3. Agree with others — any run is a good run in the wintertime, so well done. I also seem to benefit from a few miles when I'm on the edge of being sick; the metabolizing uptick seems to help somewhat. Might be psychosomatic, but the scoring counts either way!

Leave a Reply

