training plan rescue reccomendations?

Ok runners!

I woke this afternoon feeling very tired, but slightly better.  If is not a phantom, I might could start running again in a day or so.  I plan to start by taking some long walks with the dog first, as I've been really not well, and still feel noodley-legged.  I might even cover say 2 miles jogging. This is all conjecture now because right now, I feel very tired, and happy to simply keep sleeping.  I have not been eating very much, and am finding basic stuff tiring…but I think I am feeling better.

My training plan for my half took me up to 14 miles, and then a 2 week taper.  when I left off I had fiished a week with a long of Nine.  I then did a cut back week, and then got sick for 2.  So Technically…I should be doing 11 miles this Sunday.. No such thing will happen. 

I have now only 6 weeks to train at all!!!!  Holy Guacamole! 

So I am a bit overwhelemed.   I am clearly not ready, but I want to run the race, even if I am terribly slow, since I have paid for it, and it seems insane to say, "Well I got the flu in January, so I can't run 13 miles in March"

SO I am unsure of how to progress… A couple of options are floating about.

1. start back and try to run 10, 11, 12, long runs and taper….2 weeks.

2. taper only one week and run 9, 10, 11, 12, 13

3. do not taper at all, since I am running it only, not racing it…and start at 9, 10, 11, 12, making the 13 run the race?

Panic and stick my head in the sand. 

Really unsure of how to proceed.  These particular weeks were big fitness building weeks, which did not happen.  My consolation is that I seem to be fully adjusted to altitude at this point….

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

12 thoughts on “training plan rescue reccomendations?

  1. Tough circumstances… My suggestion for your first week back in action (with a day of recovery between each) is:1. Like you said – take Teulu for a long walk.2. Like you said – go for a 2 mile easy run.3. Go for a "long" run where you set out at a very slow pace – for me it helps to go at a pace where I can breathe only through my nose. You will likely walk a lot. Go as far as feels "right".#3 is your barometer – if you make it just 3 miles, then you have some building up to do. If you make it 6 miles or more, then you know where to restart your plan. If you last for 8-9 miles, then you're awesome.I've had some experience with re-starting (food poisoning last year, injury this year) so that's my basis. You've had that experience, too, so don't discount your own knowledge. Good luck!

  2. Well take it easy and work on it slowly, you were already
    skinny and you have lost more weight while you were sick, how much of that is muscle
    tone. You might want to carry weight if you are feeling good on walks with Teulu
    building yourself up again. Just take it easy at first, would hate to see you
    push it and do more harm to yourself, the worst thing could be you are healthy
    but very slow on this upcoming run, there are always another one to improve on
    after that.

    Take care and good luck with training and feeling better

  3. 6 Weeks left before taper and 8 weeks to race. I'd say worry less about the numbers (miles) and more about fitness. Starting out walk/jogging is a great plan. To me your best bet is to take 7 weeks to get as fit as you can. Then taper for just one week. Get as fit as you can and hope for the best. As for working your way back up, run your runs by time and not by miles. Try to increase the amount of time you run for. It's easier to go from running 25 min today to 30 min a day or so later. If you run by miles you'll be trying to go from 2 to 3 miles or 3 to 4 (or whatever). Minutes allow you more flexiblity. Figure that you have to run 120 minutes for the half and get as prepared as you can for that.

  4. No no Jeff I have about 6 weeks to the race. Its March 8th. But yes, I think running by time for a bit may be the answer, we'll see if I can get out and do something tomorro…I wish I felt less tired…

  5. Have You had your iron checked? If you've been sick and haven't been eating you could easily have low iron. Most women are on the low side anyway. Think about that too…you should be feeling better from the illness by now.

  6. I am no runner, but my suggestion based on common sense is just ensure that you don't do too much after an illness. Walking/Jogging sounds great – Teulu sure is a help and I am also a big fan of Nike+ and my iPod, which helps me greatly on my walks.

  7. I agree with Jeff: one week taper and focus on time rather than mileage.I'd suggest that your longest run be about the same time as you expect to run the half (the actual distance will be less than 13.1 as you will be running at a much slower pace).

  8. All of above comments are great advice.
    Beyond having to fight your recent illness, it sounds as if you might be a bit overtrained. What constitutes overtraining depends on the individual. Other factors such as a new job, recent illness, and other stresses all can contribute to overtraining syndrome. Tim Noakes MD wrote a good review on this syndrome in his book: "The Lore of Running."
    Listen to your body… if it tells you that you should not be running… then don't. Walking or walking/jogging is still good and counts, even if it won't help you do your run fast.
    As you start running again, I agree with focusing on time rather than distance (that's what we ultrarunners tend to do most of the time but it can be useful advice for any distance).
    There should still enough time to get back on track to complete 13.1 miles distance, as long as you modify your goal to "run" it (ie finish) rather than "race" it.
    The comment by Jeff about possible low iron may be correct too, but never take extra iron unless you know you are confirmed to be low by biochemical testing; it is possible to get too much.
    How is your resting heart rate first thing in the morning? If it is higher than usual (ie 5 or 10 bpm more than baseline) then you are very likely overtrained and/or not fully recovered from your illness. A few more days off from from running may pay off later. After a prolonged break, you should be itching to go and not still feeling tired or "noodlely-legged."
    If you push yourself too hard now when you should be taking it easy, full-blown overtraining syndrome can take weeks or even months to recover from.
    It is not well understood why it takes so long to recover from overtraining sydrome compared to say a musculoskeletal injury. There is some evidence that a chronically overworked endocrine system may play a role. In my opinion, the endocrine system is the most misunderstood and least respected of organ systems. (Yes, I freely admit my strong bias towards that opinion because of my chosen occupation).
    If you do decide to get your iron checked, it might not be a bad idea to make sure your thyroid is OK too.
    Best of luck and hope you feel better!

  9. I haven't Jeff, and its a good idea…I have been taking flintstones with Iron, twice daily along with folate, because I tend to get a little low…but if there is some way to get it done cheaply, I might do it. Though today I am feeling a bit better…still tired, but the dog got an actual walk, so improvement…

  10. Thanks Havy! I took Teulu out for a short walk today, as it poured rain most of the day, making sleep even more attractive. But tomorro, I am going to try for the big walk/jog……In my mind I "feel" like I could go about 5-6 miles, if you know what I mean? But, we'll see if that pans out…

  11. Well, I definitely have decided not to race for any time. My New adjusted goal time is about 2 hours and a half or 2 hours and forty minutes. That seems like a lot, but its about 11-12 min miles, which are very comfortable to me. My HR has been up in the 80's which is very high for me, normally its in the mid 50's, so I think its a combo of dehydration, and being sick.
    I had the thyroid checked fairly recently and it seemed essentially normal…
    I am curious about the overtraining thing. When I was in Wilmington I was working with a great trainer, but almost every time I worked with him I almost cried (ok, so once a week I usually did actually have tears in my eyes) because he was working me soooo hard, and I was doing long runs on the days I wasn't in the gym with him…So even though I am not in the best shape of my life, I wonder if that time simply exhausted me. I never understand why things have to be grueling, rather than challenging.

    To me the Endocrine system is simply scary, probably because all of the drastic emergencies caused…I mean a broken bone is one thing, but DKA, or thyroid storm, is a whole nother kettle of fish…

  12. Regarding overtraining syndrome, be careful and consider returning to running only when you're AM heart rate is closer to a more normal range and you actually feel like running again. Relaxing walks for a few more days now won't be a problem if they allow you to run better a few weeks in the future. It is very reassuring that you are already feeling better.
    The definition of overtraining syndrome is complex and controversial. A simplified overview is at the Road Runner's Club of America A more detailed discussion is at the British Medical Journal Although strenous workouts may and should be tiring, they should never be overly grueling or exhausting (that's what race day is for!).
    Although we all have our good days and bad days, and it is normal to occasionally feel like you would rather not go for a run, you should always look forward to running after a day or two of rest. If you still are feeling apathetic and exhausted, your body is trying to tell you something. I have learned from personal experience and the hard way that it pays to listen.
    Don't forget also that simply moving and adapting to altitude still counts as "training" even if you were unable to run as much over the past few weeks as you would have liked to.
    The endocrine system is scary only if you don't understand it, which most people (and unfortunately most doctors) don't. I guess I should be thankful because that means there will always be job security for me.

Leave a Reply

