Walking in Chimayo

So,Making full useof my Memory card now.  Again these photos don'tseem tobe quite the good quality I was expecting, but I do take them sort of on the sly,I don'twant the neighbours to get upset..

You can see why I am still a little taken aback to be

living here.

At Any rate,I have adjusted.  I called the company this morning and complained about it, and finally after a month, the housing person said, Oh yes, we can try to help you, but I just gave up, I already have all my internet established etc, and so I think I can stick it out for 8 more weeks.

 

This is essentially the view from every part of the road….Wire fencing.

 

 and then there is the road itself, muddy, and sort of messed up due to the snow we have had. but its packedpretty hard so it isn't like a soft dirt road, which I think is good.  Unfortunately the roadyou see below which looks like a dirt lane is considered a two way road!!!It makes driving tricky when people are coming from the opposite direction.

 

 

again, my technique with the light is off.  Some house numbers….

and it isn'tall muddy, the mountains, are here…I wish I could capture the texture of the rocks, but I guess itsnear impossible.

 

and mY favorite poor Horse.  He lives on about a half acre right out the back door of someones home.  As oneofmy co-workers put it, "New Mexico lacks alot of things and that is frustrating, but in general, youcan dowhat you want also and no one says a thing"  Thus horses can be housed in unusual conditions….

 

This horse is particularlyfriendly and always comes to greet us when we walk.. I'm not familiar with horses and have been a little afraid of them,but this one seems so friendly, and I love his half blaze!!!!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

12 thoughts on “Walking in Chimayo

  1. Neew Mexico is so rustic! I kind of like it. I pictured it to be nothing but dessert but your pictures tell me that it's a lot more than dessert.
    The poor horse would break my heart but if he's happy, I guess he doesn't mind TOO much. Maybe all the people are just too poor to do anything about their living conditions. How sad.

  2. I'm sure as a woman those kind of routes is creepy but I would LOVE to have nice dirt runs to run on. I'd be interested to see the summer photos and see how different it looks (or doesn't look for that matter). Hope the housing issue is getting resolved.

  3. LOL Jeff, you cant run on these roads. About 50 large dogs, mostly Pits and rottie mixes will chase you and not in a nice way…. They would be awesome running roads otherwise…but the horse is nice to visit…

  4. Wow, those roads are pretty desolate looking, what a strange juxtaposition with the stunning natural beauty on the horizon! Also, I LOVE that horse, how beautiful!

  5. Such gorgeous
    countryside and wouldn’t the dogs keep you at a good pace to keep ahead of them
    almost an extra incentive not to stop and take a break or slack of in speed.

    Its too bad
    about the dogs it would be great terrain to get used to running giving you a
    good varied surface, that you don’t get running on trampoline and other apparatus,
    giving you a consistent and good surface to run on.

    Love that
    landscape photos I would love to be able to come to that area and just shot a million
    or more photos.

  6. Much of New Mexico isn't like this ABQ and Santa Fe are quite nice cities..The poverty here is great and what amazes me is that the young people stay. but it is niceto be here for a short time,though I wish I could miss the predicted snow storm!!!

  7. Thanks for the photos. These bring back memories of our time there. You are right… much of NM is not Santa Fe. But myself, I kinda prefer the less up-scale areas. Those places seem more real and honest than the touristy areas which so many outsiders think of when they think of NM.
    My wife and I found the people to be very friendly and welcoming even though we were both outsiders as well as Anglos. Perhaps that is because we saw NM while riding across it on our horses. If anything, people were curious when they saw us with our two horses, two pack mules and two dogs riding across the desert and mountains.
    The dogs there do run crazy and sometimes are in big packs. In the areas we were, there were a lot of chow mixes too, in addition to pits and rots. Every time we rode into town to stock up on supplies our poor two dogs were attacked as we came around almost every corner.
    Quickly they learned to stay in the back near our two pack mules. The mules knew our two dogs. They had taught ours to respect them and left them alone. However, when an especially aggressive and mean strange dog came around trying to bully ours, well, those mules had no qualms about letting it be known how they felt about the situation. I admit hearing a dull WHACK followed by some high-pitched yelps more than a few times when a well-placed kick reached its mark.
    No permanent harm but a painful lesson learned, don't go out on the road to bully another dog if it's hiding under a mule.
    A little known fact about mules, although they can seem stubborn and even cantankerous to some… they are also stubbornly loyal and very protective of one of their own. Some sheep ranchers use donkeys to protect the flock from coyotes and other predators because of this.
    That's also good that you mention the Native American/Spanish conquistador culture. Don't ever call the locals Mexican… big mistake. That country was settled before there was such a country as Mexico (or even the US). NM is Spanish land grant country; some families have been there since it was part of Old Spain.
    Keep posting the photos… they are much nicer to look at than our bleak and cold Wisconsin mornings.

  8. Lovely photos! I l really like this kind of scenery, but I truly can't imagine living in it. It is the kind of place I would like to live "near". It always amazes me how different the culture/landscape/lifestyle is just within our own country.

Leave a Reply

