Florida.

I made it to Florida on Friday afternoon.  As advertised it is very sunny and warm and humid.  So far I really like it.  My apartment is super nice, and apparently close to the National Training Center.  I have not been able to start there, because I have not started my job yet.  In general I like to be sure the job is going to be OK before I sign up for anything that involves no refunds.  🙂

As always I am given someone specific to contact for Cable and internet connection, and as always they are not available when I call them.  I do think 10 am on a Monday is not an inappropriate time.  I’m giving the gal an hour and then I am calling directly.  I may not even wait for the full hour. 😦  While the apartment complex has internet for us in the clubhouse (where I am) it is not the same as being able to browse and chat on line…I tend to think of the internet center as more for getting things done like directions and stuff, they have wireless, but the reception girls are not really sure of what the password is for the wireless, so since I would still have to be in the clubhouse, i am just waiting.

Still I am astounded, there is a palm tree right beside my apartment.

People do seem to be overly interested in cars.  My Mazda Protoge looks so humble in the parking lot that is full of lexus, Jags, and all variety of expensive SUV’s.  As humble as it looks, its pretty much paid for, so I can feel somewhat smug about that!!! Even on the highways, everyone seems to be in a brand new car.  I wonder if thats the Florida culture or if I am just missing something.

Teulu is enjoying exploring the entire area.  Since he no longer has any sort of yard, he and I are walking 1.5-2.5 hours a day.  I’m running as well, so each night I pretty much fall asleep not missing TV or snything else.

So, alls well for the moment.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

11 thoughts on “Florida.

  1. Welcome to Florida!! When do you start your new job? I hope you like it and are able to settle in quickly. I hope you're able to get your internet and cable situation worked out too.

  2. Glad you made it…and yes, i think the car thing is very much a Florida culture thing. I don't know how you survive the walking and running in that sort of weather. I am outside as much as possible right now knowing that our weather here is soon to change and be WAY too humid and hot for me to be out in!

  3. Good to hear you made it safely. I am running an easy 5k later today (about ~6) and on thursday there is a speed work out at the track at 6pm. The same group is trying to put a day to go on long runs. You should check it out.I am probably going to run first and then work out. Let me know if you want to join me. Let me know if you need free passes to the gym – I can get you a few until you sign up.

  4. WOW KB… you would make a nomad jealous trying to keep up with you. Glad to hear you made it safe and that it sounds like you're finally feeling better (knocking on wood since i know you've thought that before)

  5. When we drove down to Florida, I noticed how few of the more "luxury" cars that are common around here (Chicago suburbs) there were all along the way, in the rural areas. Lexus, Mercedes, Audi, BMW, Jaguar, etc. But then when got to Florida they re-appeared!To me, though, the problem wasn't the kind of car, but the numbers of cars on the road! Traffic was terrible in some places!Anyhow, hope you enjoy your new home.

  6. Glad you and Tuelu made it there safely. There's alot to be said about a car paid for…. 🙂
    Palm tree right beside your apartment? ::::: sigh :::::: Enjoy! 🙂

  7. It sounds
    like the getting everything shut down and re started is the worst part of your
    traveling to jobs. Having to wait for what you think should have already been
    set up sounds a lousy way to waste one time. But its nice you know you made it
    there safe and sound and that Teulu has you out and keeping you exercised!

  8. You made it! How long is this contract for? I can't believe you've lived in like twelve places in the past year, it seems. Watch out for alligators when walking the dog… I wonder what Teulu would do if he saw one? 🙂

  9. We went to Florida for our honeymoon 2 years ago and I loved it there. We were in Orlando and St Pete's. During our two weeks there, I was number plate spotting, and I think we got plates from about 40 of the American States – even Alaska!!! We did see some old bangers as well though!!

Leave a Reply

