work.

Oh i am soooo sick of work.  When I first started here, I wanted Overtime.  They didn't let us travelers do OT because we are expensive.  Now of course, there has been upheaval, the manager left under duress (And I thought she was alright at her job…) So a lot has changed.  A lot of overtime is now available.  And how perfect that it comes when I feel broke.  (I still have about 2 months of savings in my readily accessible account, BUT….I like to have at least 4-5.

I've been taking opportunities as they come.  This week though will be a doozy.  I worked Sat for 12 hours and Sunday for 6.  Today I do 12.  I have tuesday off.  Wednesday I do twelve.  Thursday I have off.  Friday I do 12, Sat and SUn I do 10.  monday I am back for 12.  and on it goes. 

This usually goes one of two ways.  Either I get very cranky and somewhat resistant to getting basic stuff done. (Not for the patients, but the paperwork suffers etc.)  or I get so used to being at work that everything gets done and when I get a day off I am unsure how to use it. 

It's also a ramp up week for training for the Marathon. 

If I can make it through August, I should have a built up my savings a bit, feel more secure and be able to go back to normal hours for a while. 

Have not heard from my special guy in a week now, as he has some stressful stuff coming up.  So on top of all of the work, I feel stressed due to that, but oh well….it's not as if he doesn't know where to find me…and it's pretty much gaurenteed that I'll be there, except for sleeping hours!

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 thoughts on “work.

  1. It does sound like you'll be under it – BUT, keep in mind the end rewards, and if it means you can take a few weeks off before your next job to really relax and recuperate it'll be worth it. I'm impressed with you having so much saved – we don't have anywhere near that!

  2. Ooog! What a schedule. At least the money will be nice – how great that you have that much saved. I am by no means a saver…though, I have been trying (sort of) lately.

  3. I hope the money will be nice. Occasionally the OT bumps me into a different tax bracket, and it all goes to the Government! So far, I'm managing to make my days off pretty fun and relaxing, plus Monday was a fairly easy day, which helped immensly.
    For savings, I auto deduct into an IRA and that helps. Of course I'm talking right now about liquid savings. dollars I can get to!

Leave a Reply

