This Week in Running.

It's been a fairly good week in running.  I definitely learned a few things.  I do not do at all well running 2-3 days in a row.  The first day is always fine, and the second day, my legs feel really dead and the run is like a chore.  I'm going to have to work on this.  

Part of this may have to do with the Mileage and the longer runs I've been putting in.  For a long time I'd been running mostly 3 milers. This week I did a 5 and 6 mile run.   It was the next day after the 5 and the 6 that my legs really felt tired and heavy and lactic acidy. 

I don't really know if it's the miles,  or if there is a nutrition problem or hydration or what is causing me to have such a difficult time on the second day.  Perhaps it is a combination of all of it.  So I have been adding in hydration, and trying to look a little closer at what I'm eating as well as stretching and icing and planning mileage  appropriately.
The six miler marked my needing to pre-plant water out on the route.  I was a little worried about someone else poaching it or it being cleaned up by a litter patrol, but of course at 6 am on a Saturday that didnt happen.  I was really happy at how well it worked.  I have a hand held water bottle that one can carry along while running, but I have never enjoyed that.  there are trash cans along the route so I wont become a Litter bug. 
My resting Heart rate this week has been consistently 48-49  so I know I am improving in Cardiovascular fitness.  
I did have some more problems with my left achilles  but I iced it and rested it and hope it continues to behave as well as it has.  
I still have to go back to the Podiatrist.  I've had some hassles with the insurance company…so I've been holding off.
I am curious to see exactly what my xrays show.
This coming week starts about 3 weeks of a terrible schedule.  We went to web-scheduling at work and just nothing worked well, so I seem to have 3 days on and 3 days off, which is possibly going to spell disaster for me.  I need to increase miles, and somehow keep a more regular pace than what's been happening.  
looking forward to ultras lean horse report….

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

