Phineas and Ferb

I've been reading and being embroiled in the Health Care debate a bit on Vox, so much so that I finally gave up and just deleted the vituperative comments because there is just no discussion with someone who just wants to spew anger.

So I thought I'd blog on a cheerful topic!.  
I've fallen in total love with, believe it or not, a Disney Channel Cartoon…. Phineas and Ferb!  Yes, it's for kiddies, but it's so entertaining, I think a lot of adults should give it a go for one episode. 
Phineas and Ferb was created by Dan Povenmire and Jeff "Swampy" Marsh these guys  then pitched the idea for 16 entire years before it was picked up by Disney Channel.  To me it is really refreshing, as most of the Disney channel stuff is sort of blah, and I don't think that some of the shows really show good values to children at all. 
The basic story line has an A and a B plot.  The A plot revolves around Phineas and Ferb (brothers) summer vacation.  Each day, Phineas and Ferb create incredible structures while being watched by their older sister Candace who continually attempts to get them in trouble with their Mother.  Mysteriously, the projects always disappear prior to Mom's arrival.  Some of the projects have included  a 16 room tree house, a roller coaster, and anti-gravity machine, a rocket ship that travels into outer space and a time machine that actually travels back into time.  The B plot involves the boys pet- Perry the Platypus…who happens to also be "Agent P", a  secret agent who is sent to foil the clumsy attempts of Heinz Doofenschmirtz, a rather inept evil scientist.
In the end the two plots come together to clean up the creations of the boys, right before their Mother can come and "bust them". 
As Wikipedia notes, one other thing that is special to Phineas and Ferb,  is the musical number that is included in each episode.  It's often sort of a Broadway type of number, but one of my favorite episodes includes a Bollywood number that is just perfect.
What I love about the series is the eternal optimism of the boys.  Despite the fact that they drive their sister insane, they still show a lot of affection for her, even building her a Spa and a custom made tree house that transforms into a computer game warrior.  Phineas and Ferb, for all their building never really build anything violent, nor do they ever ridicule any one the kids that they hang out with.  They are just two genial little guys with exceptional construction skills.  
So, if you are looking to relax a bit, tune in at 6 pm to Phineas and Ferb.  Kudos to the creators! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

7 thoughts on “Phineas and Ferb

  1. I love cartoons (but of the old school Road Runner, Wile E Coyote, and Bugs variety…most of the new stuff I can't stand). I might have to check this out!

  2. Well it isnt really like the old school stuff, which I never was allowed to watch, so I dont get that childhood feeling when I see them! But I think what I like is that it's complex enough to hold an adults attention, without any negativity. One of the guys also worked on "Family Guy" but P and F are so totally different except that they are animated too!

  3. i actually have a dvd set of the Tiny Toons on my television..i'm going to watch that now. I also think I need a mini break from the news..it's too awful. I started reading the Southern Poverty Law Review…um…scary

  4. Hello..I agree fully. The redundant nature and corrupting amount of money in politics makes for a cloudy day. I further find this a good day. My current posting is short. It is short because today is free. I have closed the door on the 'woes of the world'..using a little self respect..thus self indulgance. If I did not do that I would go mad. The anger people use and perpetrate through violence..are those who went unheard for so many times..be they seconds or years. If they are not mine I choose my battles carefully for the good. You have that in your job and seemingly your heart. Read my post for today if you care to. It says it. It is short. Peace Tony

Leave a Reply

