Authors who are new to me and “worth it”

I have been visiting the local library weekly lately.  As I've mentioned this library really has an odd collection.  Most of it is donated.  It has a huge collection of Zane Grey  and the Harlequin romance section is overwhelming.

But amidst all that.
Western

and romantic influence 
          

I have found a few really good authors, which I think I should tout.
I am a little concerned for the taste of the county I live in , but then again…. these are "classics"  of a sort.
The first Author I have really liked lately is Edwidge Danticat.  Edwidge is a woman, originally born and raised partly in Haiti.  She now lives, I believe in NYC.  
I read her book,  The Farming of the Bones.  In this book Danticat creates a fictionalized retelling of the very real 1937 massacre of Hatians in Dominican Republic, also known as the Parsley Massacre.   The book employes a back and forth sort of telling of the story from chapter to chapter.  I found the writing to be very good, concise and descriptive without being overly wordy. I really could see the scenes she described, and it brought to life an event which shamefully I had no idea ever occurred.   I've just seen that she has had two more books about since 1999.  i'm going to see about getting the newer ones.  
She is a really talented writer.  I did note that all of her books are about being Haitian in a wide variety of ways.  I think she could expand a bit. Yup I know write what you know.  She writes so well, I think many other topics could be explored by her.
Author Number two:
Jennifer Haigh.
I picked up her Book,  The Condition.
It's a long book detailing the life of a young girl who is diagnosed with Turner's syndrome.  Turner's Syndrome is a genetic abnormality that affects women causing short stature and in general underdevelopment. 
Ms Haigh, writes the story of this woman, as well as her  siblings experiences and the future experiences of her Mother and Father.  While this book was centered around a rare genetic disorder, Ms Haigh was able to capture so many family dynamics, that I think the book is worth reading just for that.  There were so many little family things that I could relate to.  
I also like that at least for the main character in the book there is an essentially happy ending, so rare.
So definitely worth a look.
THird author.
I;m not avoiding the Men.
I can highly recommend  John Hart.  He is a New York Times Best Seller, which is somewhat surprising, as I am not a big fan of many best sellers…
He has also won a Steel Daggar award and an Edgar!  

I picked up The Last Child.   It was a mystery revolving around a missing girl, and her twin brother.  The mystery is set in Eastern (I think) NC and describes so much of what I assume occurs when a child goes missing, as well as the usual clues and machinations of a mystery.
Again like the other books I like, it is succinct.  There is descriptive writing but, none of the usual overflowing cornucopia of words to decribe one color, or the use of unusual words to describe things that might actually be best described using regular common words.
The  Last Child started out slowly and I actually thought I might not be able to finish it.  But as I read a little here and there, I found I was really drawn into the story.  I also love that the ending is a complete surprise and completely not what I had in mind.  While the Last Child doesn't exactly have a joyous ending, it has a solid feel when you finish it.  
Well, thats all for now.  
I have a much bigger list of books I can recommend you avoid, but that isnt quite as nice!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

7 thoughts on “Authors who are new to me and “worth it”

  1. She is, as far as I can tell, she has won many scholarly prizes and such, and her books are probably used for teaching at a collegiate level. I only know her as an author I found at my weird little public library….

  2. Okay, going to the library is an alternative to (a) buying books or (b) buying a Kindle or iPad. Probably a good idea. Probably I should try it?

  3. Succinct…..so I assume you're not a huge William Faulkner fan?? πŸ˜‰
    I like the sound of the Danticat book. There's all kinds of hidden histories to be discovered. I also love that region of the world, often ignored until there is an earthquake or something, obviously.

  4. I love that Libraries are free. Our library has not only books, but also DVD's of music and videos. It also has a bank of computers which are always in use by young people. I borrowed a great DVD- Yoga for Athletes the other day. It was a great way to try something for free. On top of that our library has "Opera at the Library" once a month, and free computing classes, and extension classes. I thought the extension was a thing of the past, but no UCF extension teaches classes at my local library on financial planning, for free!

  5. You know Emmi, I really am NOT a Faulkner fan. But as descriptive writing goes, Faulker is a pro at it. It's more people who attempt to write like Faulkner….I dislike when people try to find certain words that are not as descriptive as the original word they were thinking of. My other dislike is the use of one word over and over again…for example tirade. But thats not seen often in the Masters of the craft like Faulkner.

  6. Edwidge Danticat's book looks quite interesting. She seems to be an exciting new author (to me, atleast). I liked your reviews of the book of Jennifer Haigh and John Bart too. John Bart's name rings a bell, but I am not sure where I have heard it before. Thanks for writing about these new authors. I liked your observation "or the use of unusual words to describe things that might actually be
    best described using regular common words". I have seen a word like 'beautiful' being used to describe actual beauty, as well as things which are quite different – like the prose of a book, the melody of a musical piece, the aroma and taste of food, the ambience of a restaurant and many other things. Many times a more apt word could have been used in that place. Your observation made me remember that πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

