Musical interludes?

Ok, so…I am obsessed lately with my running and my ipod!  sorry guys.  

I'm actually a bit surprised that I have managed to go through June and into July essentially injury free.  I think it is because I have not been following a specific training plan but instead running what I can and increasing very incrementally .  I'm not fast at all,  about a minute slower than my faster times last year,  and I still have to stop and walk a little here and there.  Still, I see improvement in time and endurance and that is what has me feeling good.  In addition, the getting up and getting going seems to have become more routine.  I seem to have for the most part figured out how to work the night shift with the running and all seems well.  I do seem to have a bit of tunnel vision…
Eat, run Sleep work, swim, walk dog, repeat….
So, I've decided to use the ipod for a while, until I drop some more time…(I bet I am hopelessly addicted, but don't want to admit it)
But I only have 5-6 songs on the pod.  
It's a bit of an eclectic mix.
We have the original Christian Boy Band…The Newsboys, singing Shine
shine

It's a Christian song, I am a Christian so I'm all into the message.  I also appreciate the lyrics which are absurd and involve vegetarians BBQing hamsters and Bouncers taking ballet lessons.
Miriam Makeba's Pata Pata is showcased earlier in the blog.
I also have added 
RamJam's Black Betty…

which is oddly, perfect for the running purpose.  even the riff in the middle is alright for running to, and it doesn't start out slow and then abruptly change tempo…
The last one I added was Ace Frehley:
New York Groove

This one is a little off, there is something about having to concentrate on the faster tempo that runs under the one thats readily apparent, but I like the song.
I plan on adding
ROcky Top

As I am rather fond of this one, plus I know all the words….always a plus.  
So, I could use some suggestions…..something upbeat and with a nice fast pace would be awesome.
 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

8 thoughts on “Musical interludes?

  1. I'll try to brainstorm workout songs…..my boyfriend has iTunes and has tons of good stuff. I used to try and time myself, I kept forgetting. How great when you find you're making progress. Bravo.
    I'm actually a bit deflated these days, not nearly as efficient as I used to be. I think the job is taking it out of me, I hope to get the stamina back!

  2. Wolfmother – Joker & the Thief. It's good when you think you can't go any further. Black Eyed Peas – Pump It is another good running song.

  3. I always manage to get some extra energy from nowhere when I listen to Def Leppard's Promises on the rowing machine. Also, Airbourne's No Way But The Hard Way is a rowing machine favourite as well! What about other Kiss tracks? I Was Made For Lovin' You or Lick It Up spring to mind as possibly being good candidates?

  4. THanks Everyone! I am adding some more KISS, thinking about the black eyed peas, and also having to check out some of the stuff I have not heard of before! Awesome!!!!!

Leave a Reply

