Cooking adventure

Unlike many of my Vox friends, I am not a very good cook at all.  I enjoy eating good food, but I don't always make it well.  I am always a little nervous when trying a new recipe.  For me, the key is to follow the recipe to the letter.  Any time I decide to be creative and add or subtract something, the whole thing comes out odd!

This is a recipe I picked up at Publix…I give it 5 Stars.  Publix is the local grocery in Florida.  It's equivalent in NC is Harris Teeter….not as good (or as expensive) as WHole Foods…not as bad (or as cheap) as Save A Lot….
It is for Coriander Encrusted Salmon  served over Chickpea-arugula salad.
this is the fish part:

3 tablespoons ground coriander
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon pepper
4 fish fillets (salmon, tuna, or swordfish; 1 1/2 lb)
2 tablespoons olive oil
 

Steps

  1. Preheat large sauté pan on medium-high 2–3 minutes. Combine coriander, salt, and pepper; then coat both sides of fish (wash hands).
  2. Place oil in pan, then add salmon; cook 3–4 minutes on each side or until 145°F and fish flakes easily. 
I admit to not pan searing the salmon.  I coated the fish (and did wash my hands) and then simply popped it into the oven  at 350 for 30 min or so.
The Salmon can be served over this salad:

1/2 cup canned quartered artichokes, finely chopped
1/4 cup red onion, finely chopped
1 bag baby arugula leaves (4–5 oz)
1/2 cup canned chickpeas (garbanzos), drained and rinsed
3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1/3 cup olive oil
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper

Prep

  • Chop artichokes and onion.

Steps

  1. Combine arugula, chickpeas, onions, and artichokes.
  2. Whisk vinegar, oil, salt, and pepper until blended; add to salad. Toss and serve.
I have to say this was one of the very best meals I've had in a long time.  I liked that it did not take a long time to prepare, but was nice enough to serve to guests!
And even nicer, my dish looked exactly like the picture!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

6 thoughts on “Cooking adventure

  1. Nice, thanks for that recipe. I love tuna and salmon both, and all the fixin's here are my favorites as well. I'm not one of the many Voxters who is a great cook! I also follow recipes, although I'm slowly getting better at substituting spices.

Leave a Reply

