Holiday Stress….

Well, for the first time in Forever.  I have Holiday Stress.

I don’t think it’s the traditional holiday stress that they write the articles about….but its still stress related to the holiday.

I’m done shopping.  I’m do not worry excessively about having a perfect get together with family or friends.  I don’t feel particularly lonely.  None of that.

Instead, I feel like I have no time to get stuff done.  My long run today just completely tanked.  Instead of the planned 20…I did err, 6.   I now realise that it was cold, and I was underdressed for it, plus I was very very tired.  But if I do not get in a long this week, I am concerned for my Marathon.  I am trying to figure out some nice way to get Jim to switch with me to the half, but so far all of my attempts have left me with him saying… “you can do it!”

So  the only day I have this week to do another long run like that is Wednesday.  So no thats not a lot of pressure at all.  Ha!  On Wednesday I also have to drop the dog at the vet, get my new shoes,  find some sort of Holiday outfit (Kohls, I think), pack everything, make sure to return library books, and drop by my friend’s (who was in the hospital recently) house and help her cope with Xmas.  Thursday I fly out to be with my family.

I think my entire Holiday stress centers around a 20 mile run.

Weird Huh?

 

8 thoughts on “Holiday Stress….

  1. I don’t think it is strange at all. Running is a big part of your life and seasonal stuff is interfering with your schedule. However, i agree with the above comment. Go have a wonderful time with your family and try not to worry about anything else for a bit. 🙂

    Something I’m realizing with my injury is that I’ve got definite goal for myself when it comes to running, and I plan to work really, really hard to reach them. But I’m also coming to grips with the fact that they will also come in their own time and that as long as I keep working and reaching, eventually I’ll get to where I want to be and beyond. And much of this is due in no small part to you! You’ll reach and exceed your goals too and I am very much looking forward to cheering you on as you do.

    Wow. That all came out kind of sappy and corny, but I meant it all in a sincerely nce way. LOL I blame the vidicon.

    Anyway. I hope you get some good relaxing in this week. Happy happy to you!!

  2. Joe says:

    Yeah, that kind of stinks. What the schedule says doesn’t happen, leaving a questionable doubt if it can be done.

    It’s happened to me too, talking myself out of it after about an hour to an hour and half of slowly plodding around my neighborhood. When the happens I’m determined (or stubborn) to try to do the following day or the next weekend.

    Those 20 milers make training for a marathon special in strange kind of way. You don’t look forward to being out there for 4+ hours, but if you keep chipping away at, it will get done.

    Enjoy the Holidays, but don’t forget about running (I have zero experience running in the snow). The 20 miler will be waiting for you when you get back to Florida.

    You can do it! 🙂

  3. Its such a busy time of the year. I can see where it would be hard to focus on that one thing: the 20 mile run. Well, hang in there. The holidays will be here and gone before you know it and you’ll have a lot more time to focus. In the meantime, have fun! 🙂

  4. It’s hard enough to figure out a running schedule that works with your work schedule. Planning around holiday stuff is just another layer! I hope you’re able to adjust your schedule so that it works for you.

    I hope you have a great trip to see family!

Leave a Reply

