Turning the Corner and getting pissed off!

Today I feel much much much better than since the surgery.  I was able to do a lot more of the basic household chores as well as walk in the library.  I cycled at the gym and actually took it upon myself to start some of the upper body arm work that I can do now that I can stand on two feet.  I might be turning the corner!

My Pain is present but now it seems to be mostly located in the adductor tendon, not near the operative site.  The whole hip area feels very tight, sort of like there is a large rubber band stretched taut in the front part where your stomach and thigh meet.

My walking is a lot better.  I am planning my movements less and just getting up and doing things when I want to (like getting a drink of water, or going to the bathroom.)

My incisions are still healing.  They are taking forever, but when I think about it, he essentially drilled a hole through two parts of my upper thigh all the way to the bone, so the craters are filling in, and maybe by next week I shall be in the pool.  It sort of irritates me because I’ve had all this time off, and I would have loved to use that time for swimming.

Still, it would seem…I feel pretty positive.  I don’t have PT until Friday again, so I imagine by then my whole piriformis will be tied in a knot and I will have pain again, but I know that will be worked out by the PT.

One thing that annoys me no end is that people seem to think that I am somehow completely healed.  I know that they don’t know and that they are trying to be positive, but it irritates me.   I will start to jog short distances (like 5-15 mins) in like September.  After that it will probably be another 6 months before I can do regular workouts without a lot of pain afterwards.  The hip will be fully remodeled, or healed in about 18 months.  I didn’t make up this schedule.  It is Crazy long, but it is true.

I have experience with long healing with my left hand which I fractured some years ago.  When I went back to work from that, my hand was still very very sore, and stiff.  Since then, now 3 years my hand has progressively gotten less and less sore and more flexible.  While there are still a few things that I just can not do with my hand, it is now not noticeable to others.  Even six months to a year out of the hand surgery people still noticed that my hand was clumsy, but now they are surprised to hear it was fractured (even some hand surgeons have remarked that my guy did an excellent job.)

I keep getting these well meaning comments and emails from friends about “when are you going to start running  again”  Today I was invited on Facebook to run a Full Marathon in November!  When I reminded her that I’ve had surgery, she sent me back an email telling me that I “Should wait until I felt ready to train again” and that “If you aren’t ready the races will always be there”  There was this sort of sickly sweet tone that also sort of indicated that somehow I was just not tough enough. My PT always tells me to ignore it.  And thats pretty much the only way to do it because correcting anyone always sounds bitchy and no one really wants to listen to a long description on how the body heals and remodels itself.   I guess I want people to understand what a BIG deal it is for me and how much work it is going to take, but….that might be expecting too much from people, after all, most of us can not focus for more than 5 minutes anyway.  And thus I get Very Irritated.

But what can one do…. It will get worse, about 6 months from now, as I’ll be back at work, and indeed people will be wondering why I’m not hitting up the miles.

Looks like I will be learning patience with myself and with others….

 

 

9 thoughts on “Turning the Corner and getting pissed off!

  1. You know I would have never thought of that. Meaning that there would be people that would not be patient with you when it would come to recovery. I can see though how annoying that must be. I hope your PT goes well this Friday and that your piriformis isn’t as painful as you think it might be.

    • Yes, I am sooo irritated! They are patient but in a very condescending way as if somehow I am contributing to the long healing time.

      the Janitor at the Gym again told me to “Just start running on it” I want to beat her with my crutch. But…that would be unwise….very.

  2. I can only imagine your frustration with well-meaning but non-knowledgable people. You are right, we have a very short time-span in which to retain information about others. If we get distracted (even by the thoughts that run through our own heads as we try to listen to you….) then we forget.

    I have a general question about something that happened to a distant friend’s sister. She, the sister, was the passenger on a motorcycle, a car turned in front of the motorcycle (which was going about 50 mph) instantly killing the driver and throwing the sister I don’t know how far. Amongst all of her many injuries was a report that the impact broke her pelvic bone away from the spine. I don’t have any other details, her injuries are not life-threatening but we know she is in for a long and painful recovery. My question is this: what are the chances of her being paralyzed? If the break was at the bottom of the spinal cord then will it just depend on the specific spot of the break? With the break being so low will the main leg nerves and such not be an issue because they separate from the spinal column farther up?

    I know, I know,…no diagnosis over the internet. 🙂 I’m just asking basic information. If you can answer that will be great and if you can’t, I understand. 🙂

    Keep healing and listen to the PT guy, he knows what he’s doing.

    • Well, if she is not paralyzed now, then the chances are pretty much 100% that she will not become paralyzed. Pelvic fractures are pretty common in that type of injury and rarely result in any paralysis. If she is unable to move her legs at all now, well thats a spinal cord not a pelvic issue- but the pelvic bone is more referring to the front area than the spine area, so I think she will probably heal up from that fine, though it will be a long recovery.

  3. I hear ya. If you’re not lying in bed in a body cast with tubes strung out of every orifice, people assume you’re “okay.” For people you know only online, that might be excusable: they don’t see you on crutches or groaning in pain as you hoist yourself out of your chair. For people in real life however—well, I think they deserve to get whacked in the head with a crutch. 😉

    Seriously, the dumber they are, the more callous the comments. I’d ignore them or just toss back a funny comment (if you’re in the mood). Or you could be like my kids and become ferociously sarcastic—“Oh, I think I’ll just strap on my winged shoes and fly to the finish line!” Though that always makes me want to kill them, lol.

  4. I think for people that never have a serious injury assumes that surgery is a miraculous event. You go in injured and you come out healed. It takes the body a long time (sometimes years) to recover from any injury. Just ignore all the comments. I know sometimes it makes you feel frustrated or like there might be something wrong with you for taking so long to recover. But its not you. It’s just the way the body works.

  5. I totally empathize here. When I had my foot surgery (2008) and then spent more than 4 months in casts/crutches people expected that I’d be walking “normally” the day that last cast came off. Well, actually *I* sort of thought I would be too LOL!! I was using a cane for 3+ months afterwards and a year later was still getting a sore and swollen foot if I walked too far. Even today it is still improving (though I have a dead patch on the top of the foot that I don’t think is ever going to get better). People used to say things like “you *should* do this/that” to hurry it along – it used to upset me. Just be guided by your own body – it will tell you when you are ready for something and when you’ve done too much.

    • OMG EmJay, I had a dead spot on my knee…it was there since the first injection of the hip back in early April and it has gotten worse since surgery!!! I keep hoping it will go go go, but I guess it either goes or I just get used to it. WOuld hate to have a spot like that on a foot, cause feet are often used to test bathwater temps!

  6. I am with your PT. Unfortunately the whiners in this world will get the ” right” attention. If one doesn’t complain and just tries to deal with things in the best way, people don’t get it. Maybe you should continue limping for a while so that they *see* that you haven’t healed enough 😉

Leave a Reply

