Life’s Little Updates

Well, It’s been a week since I updated.

Work has gone extremely well since that nightmare-ish day.  I have not been assigned those rooms again, though I expect that I will have them tomorrow.  I’m slowly starting to build up more tolerance to being at work for the full 12 hours, and to being able to sit in a regular office style chair. I am finding that I also have ALOT more patience so far with both the patients and the staff.  We will see if that lasts.

I came back on the week of pay, so I am having to wait 3 weeks for the next paycheck.  While I have money, I am annoyed because I am now transferring some from savings into checking.  Once I trap that cash into savings, I really really hate to move it out.  I suppose I

should work on that, I mean money is for using when you need it not for hoarding.

Though I am grateful for my hoarding it because now I do have some when I need it.  Still I am trying to avoid purchasing anything like say, fabric….until next friday when I will officially have a paycheck again.

I am studying for the Certified Emergency Nurse Exam.  We are all encouraged to take it, and of course it entails learning a lot of things that are not really relevant.  Like the names of all sorts of different spinal cord injuries.  The names are nice, but more important is knowing how to actually treat a Spinal cord injury.  But it’s a test, and if I pass, I get an extra dollar an hour in pay, and I become somewhat more employable, depending on the values of the hospital.  Some hospitals (like mine) value education and certifications and pay you more for having a Bachelors degree and advanced certifications.  Others, well, don’t care.  I’ve learned all sorts of interesting things, and hope that at some point I will find them useful when I am actually at work!

I find I am still really really exhausted all the time now.  Even on days when I am not working, it seems my body is either trying to recover from work, or on the opposite days, it is trying to recover from PT.  As a Plus to all this, I am sleeping really well.

Physical Therapy has gone well.  Ever since I busted that one adhesion loose the PT has been a lot more attentive to what I am saying, and has addressed every single problem.  I worked one day with a different PT and he was nice, and actually very funny, but I felt like it was a waste of a session almost because I was really nervous and he was not very familiar with me. But I did my program and he did some work on my piriformis, and all was well.   The biggest news I suppose is that there are multiple large areas of myofascial restriction in my left quad.  So much so that it was leading to me not being able to actually fully extend the quad muscle, which was leading to the continuing problem with my walking.  I’d been working on them with a rolling pin at home and massage, but to be honest the leg was so painful that I was not doing it very vigorously.  Yesterday the PT worked on it with the “deep prep”  muscle stuff.  I cried, it was the most painful therapy session I have had.  I felt terrible all night, and woke up feeling pretty stiff and sore, but after going and spinning on the bike and walking around a bit, it felt much better.  I saw the PT since the gym and the PT area are one in the same and he said he thought I was walking a ton better. I also feel like I am walking better, my hip feels somewhat loose and odd but good.  My leg today is bruised and somewhat swollen around that area, but he thinks it will heal with less restrictions and do fine.  We get to do it all over again on Tuesday, with a different PT again, but this time I made sure to meet her and with my PT we went over the tx plan which took about 3 minutes.

It is strange that we are now getting along very well.  I think it’s a combination of me being a TON less tense about recovery, and him starting to actually listen when I say something feels strange. (Since I was so so right about the adhesion and he sort of ignored me tell him that for a long time.)  At any rate, I feel fond of him now, and in a way I think I will be sad when I graduate PT which will supposedly be September 2.  Currently, I am only stressed because I Still can not run. Occasionally when walking the dog I jog across the street and each time I feel the impact it is really really too much.  I do miss being able to do that.

I go back to the Physician on September 7, and we will see how he feels about everything.

Other than that, I really need to start one of the quilts I want to make, I have been putting it off, for some unknown reason, probably because I am tired, and I am hesitant as I fear it will take a long time to applique it.  Plus the lady who used Equliter to design the wheel pattern is moving very slowly getting it to me or giving me any direction, so I feel sort of stuck.  I dont want to pressure her, and yet I want to get started.  She has gotten as far as making fabric requirements for the pattern.  And I hate to be an ornery chick, but I am going to change the back, and she may get upset, but maybe not.  I just know what I want, and she did not want it, but it’s simple and I can do it without a problem, SOooo….arrrugh.  I had to do a lot of pressure for the fabric requirements.  My concern is that while I can figure out most of the quilt, I can not do the applique without a pattern.  and the applique is the best part of the quilt.  And so on it goes.

So life is pretty Status Quo.  Though I do feel like I am making now great Progress in PT, and hope to be actually running in September.  Only one thing, I am now actually a bit terrified of the running, ah well….

10 thoughts on “Life’s Little Updates

  1. Bummer about having to spend your savings money but at least you had it available when you needed it. I know how you feel though. I am the same way when I have to transfer one to the other. 🙂 You are making great progress! That is so great about the course and that you work in a place that encourages people to go further in their careers. You’ll have to post pics of your quilt. I bet its going to be beautiful.

    • I am so frustrated right now with the quilt because the lady who helped me has just had a very hard time with housing and is moving into a new home. I really think she needs to get settled before she worries about a quilt.

  2. The exhaustion can’t be fun, but at least you’re sleeping well and not lying awake, stressed out from the day. I confess I’m scared of pain of any sort, but as long as I know why I’m going through it, I can bear it. It sounds like that’s what’s working for you now—knowing your recovery is coming along and you are improving. But I wouldn’t worry about changing the quilt design—it’s your quilt, you’re working on it, and the person who’s guiding you through it should understand that, unless she’s one of those instructors who hates having one little thing deviate from her way. (In which case, she’s not much of a teacher!)

    Good luck on the exam! I am so glad I don’t have to take any more tests, though maybe I should just to keep my skills honed. Like you however, I think too many exams require you to study far too many pointless details, which get forgotten as soon as you hit the ground and are actually practicing your skills.

    • It seems like nothing, 1.00 an hour, but when you add it up…it generally comes to about 2K a year. If I said I got a bonus of 2 thousand a year, it would seem useful. Having the certification sadly does not make anyone a better nurse. One of our nurses has it and I would never ever let her take care of any of my family members, she is just not very strong…but she could pass a test.

      • Just occured to me. Was theer ever a time nurses were salaried employees? Aslo wonder what physicans with their own practices, but are attached (if that is the right word) to a hospital (per hour or a monthly fee?). Should ask my aunt about that one.

  3. I dont know. But I am so glad we are not salaried. If I work extra time, which we often do, I want to be compensated with cold hard cash for it. I like to work, but, there is no way on this earth that I would work even one minute extra without extra pay. THere are too many risks, and requirements. I also personally think while nursing requires a degree and Board registry, it’s not exactly a profession in the same sense as some others.
    We don’t really have physicians that are “attached” to our hospital, they either have privilidges to admit or not….and they have to apply for that…and can lose it for a variety of things….

  4. Good luck with the exam. I should do better in the savings department – if I had an emergency I’d be relying on credit cards to get me through – which is not a good thing! I’m not surprised that you are feeling too tired to quilt – 12 hour work days would kill any desire in me to do anything once I got home. I’m out of the house 11.5 hours (commuting and working) and when I get home I just want to have my glass of wine and a sit down with idle hands.

Leave a Reply

