Separation Anxiety

Today marks 2 weeks until the very bitter end of Physical Therapy.

I am ready to be done.

I’ve said for 2 weeks to the therapist:  “I think I’m done”   He has not disagreed, though he does keep pulling more and more exercises out of his exercise hat.

This week Mona the massage maniac reminded me that I would still need to see her even if I was not doing therapy.  PT agreed. I also agree, I like seeing Mona, even though she does cause me some major pain.  I mean, she has massaged Olympic stars, bodybuilders, gymnasts, Pro baseball players and pro basketball players.  She knows what she is doing and a lot of my improvement is simply due to her hands.

As Skeletor says, “Therapy should come to an end.  Mona is different.”

So, I am getting prepared to be really on my own.  I’ve already been attacked by a case of the blahs.

I simply have gotten to that point where I can now essentially run, so I don’t really want to do any more rehab exercises.

Silly me!

The rehab exercises have gotten me where I am  now.

Most of the rehab stuff I am doing now is basic hip and pelvis strengthening/stabilizing stuff that most runners should do. Some of the things I did prior to the surgery.  Like Myrtl:

but Myrtl is mostly for flexibility.  Now I also have exercises for strength and also some things for agility and balance.

It’s a bit difficult to know what to do and what to eliminate, if anything.  If I did all the PT exercises, I might be at the gym exercising only my hips for over an hour.  I need to do upper body work as well, and I get to RUN!

So I am torn.   I want to be done with therapy.  I am tired of doing therapy.  I readily admit that doing my PT workout, which produces copious sweating while surrounded by people just struggling to take a step, or raise their arm above their head, I feel like a poseur.  I want to chose what to do with my workouts and who I actually want to train with!

BUT…

At the same time, I’ve been told that I have a tendency to be aggressive in recovery…ramping up miles…my chosen coach is somewhat cautious in regards to things like speed work since surgery,  so I can not rely on him to know when to start and stop.  So,  I am not so sure I’ll manage being independent as well as I have managed being a patient.

Freedom makes a huge requirement of every human being. With freedom comes responsibility. For the person who is unwilling to grow up, the person who does not want to carry is own weight, this is a frightening prospect.
Eleanor Roosevelt

As much as I was often a pain in multiple places for Skeletor, I followed his instructions 98% of the time.

In addition, I’ve become slightly fond of Skeletor in the process.  He is an incredible person, and a great therapist all in one body.  While I will be seeing him, as we are members of the same gym and all, and I work out where he actually works….it will be different.

So, I am starting to try to sort of become my own independent person again.  And Wow I am having some anxiety!

I have a funny feeling though that Skeletor is going to handle it, just like he has handled everything else…one step ahead of me.

Still I have been thinking about it alot, trying to prepare myself for a much less structured future….less supervision, and all….I just have not quite wrapped my head all the way around it!

 

5 thoughts on “Separation Anxiety

    • Almost 6 months continuously Jen, it’s been a very long haul. Would have been shorter, except for an attempt at early DC which failed, and caused me to have skeletor, who has been much better for bothmy hips and my brain!

  1. I think it’s so hard to have the discipline to rein it in when all you really want to do is go-go-go! Just make sure you listen to both the little angel and the little devil on your shoulder!

  2. Thanks for sharing the video – some great exercises in there. I know I need to do some strengthening in the hip area and these will help.

Leave a Reply

