Race Report: Reservation Run 5K

Just a quick race report.  I don’t have too much to say about this one!

I chose this race because it benefits the Boone High School’s athletic programs.  There was another race going on this weekend, but it seemed to be benefitting either the local running store and/or some sort of breast cancer foundation.  Given the amount of funding Breast Cancer gets compared to the local High school, I opted for the local high school.

I picked up my race packet on Thursday this week, which was an adventure.  I am glad I went and found the  school ahead of time, made it easier on race day.  Once I got to the school I was amused and a bit surprised.  The school, which is squarely in Orlando has as their mascot, a Native American Brave.

I knew that, but thought that it was probably a remnant of former times.  Nope.  I also thought, perhaps I didn’t know much and perhaps this public school had a very high Native American population.  Nope.  But they are the Braves.  Every Native American stereotype was present there in the school.

I picked up my race packet (t shirt and number)  at “The Trading Post”.

There is a baking club, entitled the “Baking Braves”

The Newsletter is entitled “Smoke Signals

The T shirt had a stylistic Teepee on it.

Sponsorship levels for the race were  “BraveHeart,  Brave, Tomahawk, and Spear”

The run itself is called the “Reservation Run”.  I can not imagine any High School having a Japanese person as a mascot and calling their fundraiser run the “Relocation Center Run”  (That is one f the official terms used for the Japanese Internment camps created in the US during WWII.)

It does go on, but well, it is a race report.  Still.  I would think in the day and age of Super Culturally Sensitive education, that this theme would not be so prevalent in a High School that is primarily regular kids and publishes quite a bit of its materials on line in both English and Spanish.  I actually did find it a little offensive, even though I am sure it is not meant to be. (for more on this, click here.)

Anyway, I was there for the race, not to make commentary on the poor choice of mascot and theme for the school.

So I got to the race, pinned on my number and had a few minutes to do some skipping up and down the track.  There were a lot of High School students, and they all looked as if they were going to smoke me in the race!  There were quite a few fast looking ladies who looked to be in my age group, so I gave up any hope of an AG award right away.  I mostly wanted my PR (Personal Record).  Everyone was super friendly.  In fact there was a 74 yr old woman who was an graduate of the school running.  She apparently has run every one of the 5K’s the school has had.  I loved her spirit!

We had a particularly good version of the National Anthem done (if it was a student, WOW, good job!!)  and with a siren, we were off.  I hit my Garmin right as my DAG timing chip beeped.   The race started out with a little down hill which of course got us all moving pretty quickly.  I was feeling a little tired and worried about going out too fast.  I did go out too fast.  I attached myself to a woman and was pacing off her and not looking at my watch too much.  Ooops.  Wrong pace.  She was faster than me.  So I completed my first mile in about 9:40.  Since having the labrum repair, I have been trying for 10:30-10:50 miles on short runs (like 5K) and 11:30 on long runs.

At the end of one mile we turned on to a street with brick paving.  In a previous Post, I explain about Brick Paving….and me.  I don’t do too well on it.  I have discovered no one really does.  It is lumpy and bumpy. To be fair, In the first mile I went over some little area of brick that were super well maintained and though, “Oh this is OK”  but when we turned on to the entire street of brick…a lot of little unrepaired areas were revealed.

So eventually I got up on the cement sidewalk to get off of the brick.  I was able to run pretty well, but my second mile was no 9:40. I kept telling myself the brick was “Just a different exercise for the leg muscles”    At that point, the untimed students were catching up with the timed runners.  These were not the Cross Country runners, these were Basketball players, Cheerleaders (the Bravettes, yes!), and Football players.  They really were not pacing themselves well.  They would sprint by me, stop grab their sides, and then I would slowly jog by, they would get that “look”  and start sprinting again.   In the end I beat a lot of them.  I was distracted though by them and them catching up to me made me feel like I was running the slowest race ever.

The course is a Loop, and eventually the horrid brick paving came to an end and we were on Asphalt once again.  Whoo Hooo.  I ran along, feeling quite tired.  At the three mile point, my Garmin beeped and I knew I had about 0.10 mile left but yet when I looked at the little loop, it looked so far away. None the less I started to run harder to try to finish well.  I was totally chicked by a High school chick who came out of nowhere to sprint by me at the finish.  (but you know, I  was pretty slow, so she was not that impressive!

I finished, my tag was scanned and I hung around a little drinking water and catching my breath.   I was waiting for the official time from the chip.  Well what a surprise.  My chip time and my Garmin time are essentially identical.   32:57.   No this is not exactly a Land Speed record, but it is a new PR for me. And it is official.  No guessing nothing, the timing was perfect.  So odd that it matched my Garmin within a half a second!  I think in part I was not that excited because for 3-4 weeks now I have been running this speed or a little faster, so I knew if I ran normally, I would have a PR.  It would not be a strain.  Still it shows me progress!

I’m considering doing one more 5K in February,  because I do think I can run a little bit faster, but…part of me thinks I should focus more on the Seaside Half, which is coming in 28 days!!!

All in all a nicely run race.  I will not do it again as I dislike the brick paving.  But otherwise, the school did a good job putting on the event, and I hope it raised them a good amount of money.  WHile I dislike the mascot and the cutesy names…I do like that I was able to support student athletes.

Onward in my year of running PR’s!!!

5 thoughts on “Race Report: Reservation Run 5K

  1. pam says:

    I’d have tripped all OVER the cobblestones. I dislike the mascot and the way the references to Native Americans are used.

  2. I LOL’d at your comparing the use of a Native American “brave” to a Japanese guy (maybe a samurai or a ninja?) as a mascot! I don’t think there’s anything romantic about Japanese Americans, whereas in the 20th century, when Native Americans were no longer a threat to white settlers, a whole genre of literature, music, and later, movies and TV shows were devoted to “Indians.” In North Dakota the state university used the moniker “The Fighting Sioux,” which local Sioux tribes said was offensive. A big fight broke out: rich alumni threatened to pull their donations if the school dropped it. The state finally decided to retire it, after the NCAA got involved and said no more Native American mascots. So if they can do it in backwater North Dakota, they ought to be able to do it in Florida for a high school.

    Oh well. I’m sorry you had to run over brick, which I don’t even like walking on. It sounds like you did great in the race, however! I told my son about you, as he’s thinking of entering a marathon. He boasted that he ran a mile in 5:35 this week, and he’s shooting to run a mile under 5 minutes. He’s all legs and 6’5″, so I imagine his stride is huge. I have trouble keeping up with him when he’s walking!

  3. Well, I have read a ton of Japanese writing regarding the internment camps and life in that era, and I think they could be considered “romantic” but not really the noble Savage.

    Your son is doing great. I hope he enjoys his marathon. One of my first running partners was 6 foot 4. Drove me nuts as I had to take 3-4 steps for his one…

Leave a Reply

