Loose End…

I am finding myself at a bit of a loose end post race.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m waiting for my coach to deliver me a training plan.  I’ve always pretty much done my own training plans in conjunction with Hal Higdon.  But  this year, the coach threw out Hal, and told me he would be writing me a plan.  It is sort of a tough thing to wait on it.  I’ve had really good results with my coach.  We get on very well.  I gave him a gift cup of some of the Schwag I got at my race and he was like a little kid as he kept pulling stuff out of it.  At one point he pulled out chapstick (they were handing it out) and he was like, “OOOOOH I need this!  You always know!”  I looked at his lips and they were really dry, but I gotta admit, I don’t really know…it was what was free.  Despite that, we seem to have a pretty good coaching relationship.  I look forward to seeing him, which is a definite plus.

It will be very interesting to see if I can trust him enough to do his plan without meddling with it.  So…until then I am fooling around with running.  Running what I feel like, and so on.  I don’t like it.  I feel as if I am doing junk miles.

I do have the 10K coming up, but as he said, “not much we can do about that since it is so soon”  Still I suppose I should be training a bit and doing at least one long over then 10K distance this week and maybe even next… Hmmm.

That seems to be all I have to say!

2 thoughts on “Loose End…

  1. I’d love to have a coach, that’s so great!! I also prefer to have a specific training plan over doing “junk miles” but occasionally it’s fun to just do whatever I want! I definitely learn from every run regardless 🙂

  2. They aren’t junk miles. They are maintaining your base. You just ran a half marathon, so enjoy the recovery. You have plenty of endurance for the 10K already from that. I would do maybe one run over that distance and then take it easy on the long milage until race day. See there!

Leave a Reply

