Announcing my new job/life!

Well,   What a whirlwind.

As my last post indicates, all sorts of things were moving along.

So Thursday night, I hit the “apply for a transfer now”  button on my computer screen.  Friday I went to work as usual.  I ended up having to precept a student. Normally I dislike doing this, but she actually turned out to be a really fun student and I enjoyed her.  At about 10:00 I was told, oh, they aren’t ready to interview for that position yet.  The head honcho of administration also spoke with me and very politely indicated without saying anything exactly, that I probably should not be applying for the job.  I mentioned this to my manager who said, “Oh, I’ll make some calls” …

By about 3:30 that afternoon, I had an interview scheduled for Monday.

So, over the weekend the usual job interview preparation ensued.  It has been years since I prepared a professional resume or anything of that sort.  So I ended up using a “free” resume builder on line.  Well it turned out in the end to cost me 4.95 for 7 days use.  So not free.   I was surprised at how much easier it was to choose a format though, and then enter all the info in and have the resume builder put it all in that format.  So.  Worth 4.95 cents?  YES.   I am a little concerned, as I just went on and cancelled the subscription they automatically sign you up for (which of course automatically take more money from you…).  I am hoping that it is really cancelled.  But, if you have a big interview coming up and are short on time…It does seem well worth the initial cost to simply input your info and get it done.

After that of course it was time for shoe shopping and making sure I had an appropriate outfit.  Luckily I have a few “go to” classic style outfits, so all I needed to do was update the shoes and get some panty hose.  I know.  Who wear hose these days?  But I knew the folks I was interviewing with are a little old school.

So the interview went well.  I have never been so scared in my life!  My hands actually started to get very sweaty which is a new thing for me completely.  So I guess I really was nervous.

Surprisingly at the end of the interview, the Doctor offered me the job.  So I am, as of April 8th, transitioning in to the role of the Infection Control Nurse.  The only one for the hospital.  So it’s going to be quite a change.

Monday through Friday.  8-4:30.  I will be wearing regular work clothing, and sitting in an office.  Very strange!

So no more Codes, or Emergencies, or trying to figure out how to fit 50 people in a space designed to treat 30.

Mostly this is what I shall be doing.   or this  if you prefer…

of course…this is what most of the hospital staff think I will be doing:

So we shall see how this goes.  It will allow me to train better as well, as I can join some running groups, and have social running time etc.

I’m really nervous, and excited.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Announcing my new job/life!

  1. You must have really wow’d them in the interview for them to offer you the position right then. Congratulations! I hope you find the position challenging and the M-F 8:00-4:30 is something you can settle into w/o too much trouble.

  2. Congrats! That’s so exciting! Interviews make me so nervous too…but obviously you did great 🙂 hope you enjoy the new job!!

  3. Woohoo! Good for you! After last year, you really deserve some good news.

    That “very politely indicated without saying anything exactly, that I probably should not be applying for the job” seems nervy. I don’t understand why some people say things like that. It almost like they want to keep you down.

  4. That’s great – what a true moment of setting the groundwork and action working for you when the opportunity came. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

