Week 4 and things are status Quo

I’m finally into one month on the job.  Everything as far as I can tell is limping along rather smoothly.

My new boss has been praising me and telling me things are going very well.  I feel still quite stressed.  Each day is a new adventure.  There are so many areas that I want to stick my fingers into, and not that much time.  I try to prioritize, but, things keep cropping up that I need to deal with immediately.  I suppose in another month things will improve.  A lot of things that are cropping up now will be in place.  (for example, I forgot about New Employee Orientation on Monday.  We decided to change the formatting of our slides, so now I need to transfer all info on to a new slide template…takes time, but I will not have that task next month for New Employee orientation…)

I am getting a long a little better with the Intensivist.   He was in with my boss the other day and I went into a panic.  As it turns out he was there for another reason, and all he had to say about me was good.  Whew!

I keep taking little bites of the sandwich and getting to know them.  My biggest problem is to finish chewing one bite before I take another!    So many projects, so little time.

Running…..now that the job is a bit more settled, I thought this week that my running was improving.  I was able to do 2 fairly nice runs this week, as well as a cycling/gym workout  but today  my long run fell apart.

I started to have some hip pain even before I hit mile one.  It is not surgical hip pain, but it seems I may have a small strain to the glute or high hamstring.  So I ended up with 4 not 9.

I really need to focus a bit more on the running.

I have a few events coming up and while I was doing well back in March and April…the new schedule has made me a little lazy.  I also think that I had been using the job as a bit of an excuse to not get into the gym as often.  I’ve allowed myself to indulge in some Ben and Jerry’s Creme Brulee…

 

 

If you have had the Creme Brulee, there is not much more to be said.  I can eat an entire container in one sitting.  I can not normally do that with any other Ben and Jerry Flavor, and I like most of them.  This love of Ben and Jerry’s and my decreased Gym time, in combination with my left hip aching a lot…has left me a chubbier bunny than usual.

Soooo…I just went shopping for all healthier foods… and made a new committment to get into the gym….I’m a bit worried about it but I just need to  stop worrying about the running and do what I can.  I admit to being a bit disappointed too, I mean it was going along quite well, and now…I am back to wehre I started again.  Well, can’t be helped.  I have to start from where I am.  I am reminded of the Bible verse

“But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.”   I’m not after riches and glory and I am pretty sure that this is not really what the verse is about.  It is more about meeting your need.  Right now I feel a huge gap in my training for my up coming half marathon.  I just can not run longer runs lately.  I could have done 9 today but I was in pain at ile 1.5 so I decided that constant pain was a thing to avoid.  I’m just trusting that God will meet me where I am, and help me move on to the rest of the training plan.  I think the key here is that I need to be more willing to work for it.  That and the strain on the hip has to heal somehow…

Lets see how this week goes.  I need to revisit my year goals or quarter goals as well. soon.

6 thoughts on “Week 4 and things are status Quo

  1. My doctor told me to lay off the ice cream because my cholesterol levels were shooting up. *sigh* Otherwise, I second your take on B&J’s Creme Brulee. I’m not sure why, as this past winter was pretty mild, but I’m carrying a lot more weight around the hips and belly than last year. So yeah, I need to either cut back on the calories or ramp up the exercise. The former will be easier to do than the latter, since I don’t have time to work out now either.

    LOL at “limping along rather smoothly.” I know how that feels. Still, it sounds like you’re settling into the job. The routine will come later, though I suspect that this position you’re in doesn’t have a routine. You have to jump as events happen. Hang in there and cut yourself some slack. I don’t think I could jump into that job as quickly as you have!

  2. Ouch – I hope the hip strain heals quickly and you get to where you want to be with your running. I’m not a big ice-cream person, chocolate is my huge downfall and after dad died I “needed” some every day just to keep myself afloat. Of course now I’m having to deal with the consequences of that – I don’t like exercise so I’m hoping wishful thinking will work LOL 🙂

  3. Could the pain while running be due to more sitting on the job? Since you aren’t in the ER anymore and you have an actual office I have to assume you sit more now than you did before. Maybe your posture, while seated, leads to hip pain when trying to run?

    I am glad to hear that you are setting in. Everything seems to be falling into place. 🙂

    • I wondered about that too Trish! I changed my shoes this morning, finally and the pain was decreased by quite a bit, so I am betting on the shoes. That and the fact that I was told that it would be a 2 year recovery…so I am at about 1 year… a few set backs are expected…I suppose.

Leave a Reply

