Relief.`

Wow.

After a very difficult few days, I got news late today that my friend is actually doing much better today.

She was able to come off the ventilator and talk some. She was able to recognize her family.

I had no idea how heavily this had been weighing on me.  I really really struggled with this over this weekend and week, and even last week.

Life is short.

Love can hold you together…make you a shelter to weather the storm… This is the first day of the rest of your life….reach out….share that love, you may never get another opportunity to do so.

I’m so damn lucky.

(Artist is Matt Maher…he of course has this song on an much more polished album, but…this version is a little more how I feel today…)

5 thoughts on “Relief.`

  1. Great news! Isn’t it funny how we think we have it altogether and under control, then when we get the news that all is well, the dam breaks loose & we realize we weren’t as in control as we thought? So glad for you & your friend & her family! Hope she continues to improve!

  2. I’m so glad, for your friend, her family, and you, of course. Life truly is short, though unfortunately, a lot of us don’t realize it until something like this happens. I’ve been going through some days where I’ve had to simply let go of things that I had no control over. It was hard, especially since I’m stubborn, but now that I’ve done it, I feel like I can appreciate the things that really have value, my kids, my friends and my activities.

    The chaplain who visited my mother in the hospital told me “Sometimes you have to let go and let God.” I thought it was a bit trite at the time, but I understand now what he was trying to tell me.

Leave a Reply

