Control Freak

So, If you ever go over to my less popular Running/training blog (30 weeks!)  You have already seen the big news, but it’s monumental for me so I probably need to share it here.

I have a new Coaching arrangement.  My old Physical therapist, Skeletor has stepped up and for a fee, which is a little less than the personal training sessions at the gym, he will work with me and design an entire training plan.

He works really well with me, and seems to have an innate understanding of what makes me tick, most of the time.  SO  it should be pretty good.

I did a blog post over on that other rogue blog about trying to decide... there was only one Con and it was tiny.  So, I bit the bullet.  And now I have to give up all control.

Rest day today. I am already panicking that I will gain weight.

Light cycling on thursday.  (weight, and I’m behind!!!)

pick ups only on a run day!

And a Race on Saturday which I am supposed to Kill.

 

He said he was really interested to see what I could do if I rest my legs.  I’m really afraid I won’t be able to do anything…or that I will somehow have one of those odd races, you know….the one where you throw up halfway through and trip and fall and have a time that reflects all that.

He is such a reasonable person.  I doubt he has worked with anyone as slow as me before.

A few moments of learning for me.  He starts to spell out workouts..I focus (thank God!  usually he has to kind of tell me to do that, and I know that is irritating.) and I start to fidget wanting to argue with him…tell him it isn’t enough, tell him what *I* think is the right thing…  I held back.  I finally did say, “Wow I have no control, I am a control freak…I need control.”  He looked at me and said, “I’m a control freak too, this will make this interesting.”

So, being that he and I share a similar belief, I’m going to look at this as learning more to trust.  And relearning how to run….

 

3 thoughts on “Control Freak

  1. You must be the only person I know who doesn’t like to rest, lol. 😉 I’m sure it’s hard to trust in another person’s advice when you’re so used to doing things a certain way, but maybe the message from this is to relax and learn. Over the years, I’ve found that the best students are the ones who not only work hard, but who know how to open up and listen to what’s being taught. The most difficult ones are the students who constantly fight what’s being taught because they think it has to be done a certain way. Not that I’m saying that’s what you’re doing, but it does help to trust the guy you’ve hired to help you. 🙂

  2. scooterkitty1992 says:

    Yay! Good way to look at it! I am the same way with my chiro/sports medicine guy…I had to delete an email yesterday because I wanted to go workout…

Leave a Reply

