And it’s flu Shot season.

UGH.

I’ve been giving Flu Shots.

LOTS of them.  I think I gave about 50 today.  It seems no one else really wants to do it.  The Employee health Nurse who irritates me pretty much decided she was going to draw up vaccines and hand them to me to plunge into people.  Plus, she does not appear until the very last minute, and then has not obtained the supplies…I am just there to support, but to have things run smoothly, I need to arrive early, get supplies, get the vaccine from the Pharmacy, make sure we have proper consents, etc.  I am not perfect, but this woman is kind of a joke.

Oh Yay.

So, everyone remembers me at the one that plunged that needle into the arm.

It is a new Joint Commission standard that we report the percentage of employees vaccinated to the National Health Safety Network, and of course it will be public knowledge soon.  SO, for the first time ever, our Senior Leadership is very interested in the Flu Vaccine.

We start at 0630 in the hall way.  This morning the Employee Health Nurse managed to knock over my coffee.  My Extra special All Organic Sumatran Reserve.  I was enjoying that until then.  At least she did not bust my nice mug.

I was just starting to feel alive and awake with the Coffee, but no, Darn nurse put it all over the floor.

Our goal this year is to have 70% vaccinated.  So far, after day one, and some early bird vaccinations…we have about 35-40% completed.  I kind of hope the other 30% show up tomorrow.

Wow these two weeks are JAM packed with Flu vaccines and educational activities.  She better not spill that coffee again, or I am sending her to Western Indonesian to pick me more beans.

Flu Shot anyone?  (Frankly, I am amazed at how riled up people choose to get over this.)

 

 

6 thoughts on “And it’s flu Shot season.

  1. Well, just as long as you’re adept at giving the shots and aren’t leaving everyone with bruised arms, I don’t think people would mind THAT much. 😉

    Seriously, I was always glad to get a free flu shot where I worked: they’re so pricey at the retail drugstores and other places where they give them out. It was noted by all of us teachers that we got sick a lot less after getting a flu shot. I also figured out which nurse was best at giving out shots, so I got in line when she set up her station.

    In CA hospital employees who refuse to get a flu shot are forced to wear masks during the flu season. I’d rather get a shot once than have to wear a mask every day at work.

  2. I happily get my flu shot every year. Igot influenza about 20 years ago…and I got it twice in one year. Over two weeks of fevers, sore throat, cough, and then at the end, vomiting. Yep, I am happy to get my flu shots! I get mine this week at work. 🙂
    I’d kill the nurse who spilled your coffee for you. 🙂

  3. As a substitute teacher I am going to get a flu shot. There is no telling how sick some of the kids will be when they arrive at school on any given day. I have yet to clear from my memory how much snot was produced by one sick/allergic 2nd grader in just four hours. (More than Jordan has produced his whole life.) I have been extremely lucky in life in that I haven’t ever gotten the flu (I’ll probably be hospitalized with it now that I’ve said something) and I do NOT want to get it should I be exposed to it.

  4. Dash says:

    I never used to get flu – heavy colds yes, but not proper flu – until three years ago when I caught swine flu. Both subsequent years I’ve had the shots, and both years I’ve managed to catch a different strain of flu to the one being immunised against. Really hope I break my run of bad luck this year and make it through unscathed.

    I can deal with colds, and secretly don’t mind having to snuggle up at home with soup and orange juice and a box set DVD, but flu is a completely different story and I hate it!

  5. Hey there,

    Flu Season is unpredictable. Did you know that it could vary this much year to year?

    http://www.everydayhealth.com/cold-and-flu/1005/dont-underestimate-the-2012-2013-flu-season.aspx

    This is important information for families to keep in mind. We encourage you to post this infogram to your site (I can send as an attachment). If you do, we would be happy to give you a Follow Friday shout out to our 100,000+ Twitter followers!

    Let me know!

    All the best,
    Blaine

    Blaine Shranka
    Outreach Director
    Everyday Health
    blaine@everydayhealth.com
    345 Hudson Street, 16th Floor
    New York, New York 10014

    FOLLOW US
    twitter.com/everydayhealth
    facebook.com/everydayhealth

Leave a Reply

