Reblogging from my training blog….

I had a great day today!  It didn’t start out too good though.

After Thursday, I realize that Bayshore is no longer my “A” race, but..it is still a race I am doing.  I still want to do well.  For me well is going to be about 4:45-4:50.  I’m not looking for miracles.

Anyway.  I decided last night that I might be sick.  Lots of people have colds.  So, off to bed I went, and slept pretty heavily.

When I woke in the morning, the last thing I wanted to do was get out of bed early.

6378964295_c8ae08d065_zI persisted a bit…I was a little unsure of what I was going to do.

I had decided to ditch the cycle and do a “Lucky’s Lake” swim instead.

See…this really cool Dermatologist, Dr Meisenheimer, opens up his home and lake for swimmers daily here in Orlando.

Really?  you say?  Really.  6:30 weekdays and 7:45 on weekends.

http://growingbolder.com/media/sports/water-sports/luckys-lake-swim-202905.html

It’s loads of fun, and occasionally, Dr. Lucky and his wonderful wife decide to open up his entire home to anyone…

http://growingbolder.com/media/sports/water-sports/luckys-jaws-swim-376674.html

I’ve actually wanted to do this for a few years now.  It was one of my goals when I  had my hip surgery.  But at that time, I didn’t have too many swimming pals.  While it is open to all, most people tend to be brought by a friend.

The swim itself was a little wimpy….only 1000 meters or 1 km.  My bigger fear was oh the Open water.  I mean, it’s Florida.  Things live in open water.

As we started we were blessed with the sight of a HUGE Osprey with a big fish coming over head, it was so close one could almost reach out and touch it.

I got out in the water and was a little nervous. I peeked under water and saw…

211175442_640

 

Yep, total darkness.  I could see my hands in front of me, but nothing else.  Initially this kind of made me not want to look into the water, but I got over it in a few minutes.  I found it too difficult to swim otherwise.

So we swam from Lucky’s home:

10149_2171257683492_565448146_nYes he opens it to anyone who comes and it is very nice.

Across Lake Cane:

541254_2171257443486_1110327220_nand back again.

It was great.

559046_2171256563464_1903872083_nAfter the swim there was loads of hoopla.

Lucky has a wall where everyone signs after their “first time”

538664_2171272483862_1417429398_nHere I am signing away…on the spots left on the ceiling….

482203_2171272243856_597810613_n and here I am with the “I survived sign”  It was a really fun morning.  I hope it continues to re-energize me for tomorrow’s long run experience!!!!

 

For my efforts, I received a bumper sticker to spread the word and also this patch.

gator-patch-edited

 

Kind of a fun day…sort of a “cult swimming event” Never in my life thought those three words would go together!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Reblogging from my training blog….

  1. Good for you! I’ve always been a little afraid of swimming in anything but an artificial pool because of a bad experience I had when I was a little girl. I saw a snake swimming in the lake where I was taking a dip, and it began creeping straight at me. I couldn’t get out of that lake fast enough!

    (Aren’t there any alligators in the lakes in Florida? Or is this just a myth to scare tourists?)

    • There are tons of alligators in most lakes in Florida. There might be some in Lake Cane, but I tend to think that with 20-150 people all coming into the water enmass, they usually get out of the way. we had maybe 16-20 yesterday. I would definitely not go into just any pond here…

Leave a Reply

