Remembering 9/11

Like everyone else, I do remember 9/11/2001.

What I remember about it was that I was, not surprisingly, running on a treadmill while it was occurring.   What I also remember is that is was one of those pristine, beautiful autumn days that I just revel in.  Crisp, cool, but with a brilliant blue sky and copious sunshine.  It was such a disconnect to have such a horrible event occur on such a beautiful day.

In honor of 9/11  I wanted to share a video I recently came across.

http://www.upworthy.com/a-boy-makes-anti-muslim-comments-in-front-of-an-american-soldier-the-soldiers-reply-priceless

While most people find the response of the soldier in camo most appealing, I think the beginning of the video really shows our herd mentality, and it’s something to think on.

At about 1:24  into the video, a fellow speaks up, then another person speaks up, then another.  My thought in this is that we do need to be BRAVE in our Post 9/11 world.  It seems that most of the people in this video thought the racist treatment of the Muslim employee was entirely disgusting, but most seemed to not want to say anything until someone else spoke up.

 

4 thoughts on “Remembering 9/11

  1. I would sure hope that I would speak up. I think that having seen this and thought about it I wouldn’t be afraid to speak. But, if I were caught completely off guard I can see myself “freezing”..at least for a bit….I would be very disappointed in myself, however, if I let that continue without saying anything.

    • I found this particularly interesting as someone I know just said recently, that they did not feel that any surviving Prison Guards from the Nazi Camps (buchenwald etc) should be tried for War Crimes as they “were just following orders” Wondered what would happen if they collectively had realized just how insanely wrong those orders were…out loud.

  2. I saw this video earlier on the Upworthy site. Like you I was a little dismayed by the number of people who turned away or didn’t react. I realize a lot of people don’t want to get into a fight—since 9/11 and recent incidents like the Aurora movie theater and Sandy Hook shootings, I think we’re all a little more conscious of how suddenly a situation can become violent. It’s hard for me however not to think of my father and his family and how they were treated after Pearl Harbor when I hear about attacks against Muslims in this country. My kids sometimes tut-tut because they think I’m overly sensitive to situations like this. I’m sure I’ve embarrassed them a few times, but I’d rather deal with public embarrassment than think back on having stood by while an injustice took place.

  3. I was watching West Wing on TV when they broke into the broadcast with the news that the first tower had been hit, and I actually watched on TV as the plane hit the second tower. I could not believe what I was watching. The next day, the shopping centre where I worked at the time was like a ghost town – every stayed home too shocked to do anything – and we were way over here in Australia!

Leave a Reply

