Accupuncture

I need a more snazzy title, but this is what it is!

I have to admit, the injury to my hip, after my bout with Rhabdo...really  had me feeling kind of low….tumblr_mtv72jkiXl1qc4uvwo1_500

I was really struggling.  Logically I knew I had just hit a set back or two, and life goes on, but so many in a row were really starting to wear on me.  I tried everything I knew to get myself back on track, but to be frank, just nothing worked.  The only person who really understood this was my coach, and he was really preoccupied with some very unfortunate things that really trumped my slump in mood.  On top of this, the hip pain was not just affecting my running.  It had become difficult to walk, and I was putting off things like basic shopping because I just could not bear the idea of walking around a store.  Any kind of movement without planning it super carefully in my mind was fraught with surprise pain.

So, I made an appointment with a local acupuncturist.

I did not know what to expect, and I was kind of worried.  I had tried everything else and this was starting to look like a last resort. I wanted a Miracle.  Generally…this is not a good thing to expect.

MisterMiracle1cover1-1

Come monday I made many motions to get through work.  I managed to do the work that needed to get done, but I admit, I had a difficult time starting anything new.  PLUS, we upgraded to Windows 7 this week.  So it’s like having everything there but you have a maze to go through to find it.

So at the earliest possible moment, I made it down the road to my appointment.

Now…I’m a former Emergency Nurse.  I am entirely a skeptic.  As soon as I went in to the office…I noted quite a bit of things that set my alarm bells ringing… Products for sale…lots of “chinese” items.

6a00d8341ef22f53ef017c36643859970b-500wi

 

The Naturopath, was not entirely on time for my appointment which annoyed me totally.  But when he came in, he was thankfully NOT a reflection of the decor etc.  He looked like a regular Western physician.  He asked a bunch of questions.  Initially tried to convince me that if I gave up all milk products I would not need Singulair anymore…etc.  I kind of responded by talking about the pain in my hip.

Eventually I was placed on a table and about 12-16 needles were placed into my right hip, and one in my knee area…It was a definite sensation, though not painful at all.  I did not much like the one stuck in my knee area… He then stuck a warm lamp on that area, turned down the lights and said he’d be back in 10 minutes.

acupuncture

I didn’t have my phone on or anything and I have to admit, I was kind of tense, waiting for a feeling of relief to rush over me.

Yeah.  That didn’t happen.  I did actually feel many different things, some pleasant some not so great, but it was all quite tolerable.

Once he removed the needles, I felt a bit sore and pricked all over, but I found I could walk a bit better.  I admit the jury was quite OUT on if this worked or not.  He told me that it might not create instant relief.  So I left.  I went initially to see my coach and pay him.  He was no where to be seen.  So I went on home.  and slept fitfully…  Since I am not training, I am not sleeping too well, not very tired, kinda sad.  Last night I relied on benadryl to get me to sleep.  When I awoke, I gingerly tested out the whole hip thing.  Well…

WOW.

Where I had been limping and mincing along the day before, I noted that I was able to walk the dog with very little pain.

I was totally surprised.  I did after about 6 hours at work start to feel achy, so I took a normal dose of motrin and ALL my pain went away.

Amazing.

Got cleared to try to run 3 miles from the coach.

And am going back to have my adductor looked at tomorrow.

Amazing how much better one’s outlook is improved when constant pain is removed.

wahoo.

 

3 thoughts on “Accupuncture

  1. Okay, you have me convinced. I’m not wild about being lectured on diet and holistic health: I have a friend who is into alternative medicine and takes over a hundred supplements a day, but it seems like she’s always going from one health crisis to another. Needles also make me nervous, but if it means being able to walk without a knee brace, I’d love to try it.

    I’d also love to hear how you’re doing in a few days. If your hip pain is gone altogether after this, I’ll be really impressed! 🙂

    • Still good so far. About to head out for my run. The needles really did not bother me at all. I have to admit, I know I could stand to improve my diet, but I am not about to go whole hog on wheat grass shots or anything nutty. One thing about him that was great was that he offerred me some Vitamin D drops- which I do need, my D level is demonstrably low on lab work. Told me he did sell them at the office, but that they are also available at other stores. That was the end of the sales pitch. Never mentioned again, and I left without D. 🙂

Leave a Reply

