Gratitude.

That must be the theme of the quarter.

So, Ive strained my back.  This is a new thing for me and wow,  I see now why back injuries are so absolutely debilitating.  Day one, I could hardly move, and ended up getting to work late and being sent home because I couldn’t stand up.  I must have looked pretty bad.  My Boss offered to drive me home, and then the Critical Care Intensivist MD offered something similar.

I found it much more difficult to sit in this injury with thankfulness.  Firstly the pain was really strong, and hard to predict.  Secondly as this was completely new, I was a bit scared.

being_thankful_cardThankfully low back injuries are not new to anyone else it seems.  My coach knew what to do to help me.  My Massage person knew what to do and one of the ED docs knew exactly what to prescribe.  I even emailed a PT I know from a race a long time ago, and he knew what to do.  I felt a lot of pain and fear, but as I interacted with everyone for help, it was delivered in a seamless, and kind way…and I started to realize this isn’t some freakish injury, this is a common one AND people do know how to help this.  So very thankful for that.

I’m thankful that this happened NOW.  My racing/running season has already been gutted. I am about 24 days out from my goal race, SO, if I had been in tip top shape and this had happened I would have been even more devastated.

So what to do?  Well, when I was laying on the table with the TENS unit attached, I was listening to music.  Now, I was listening to the IHeart Radio  Gospel station, so no doubt I knew I’d hear something inspirational.  But this came on and it was really…kind of perfect for where I am at.

The Hebrews 11 and 1 that he refers to is this:

 Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.  NIV.

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. KJV

Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see. NLT

So I’ve decided to just go with it.  This is going to get better.  I’m gonna start to run strong again.  So with that faith, I’m going to plan my race season for 2014.  My goal is 2 marathons and some half marathons.  Maybe a couple of fun 10 and 5K’s thrown in there.

And it looks like this is a great time to study study study for my certification exam.

Leaning in on Hebrews 11:1.  I know I’ve got one of those HUGE blessings coming.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Gratitude.

  1. Ouch, it is scary when you’re in so much pain you have trouble standing, let alone moving about. I’m glad you have people nearby you can consult for advice and help. Do rest up however and allow yourself to heal over the weekend.

  2. Oh, man!!! So sorry it’s your back. I can say from very recent first hand experience: back pain sucks!! I was walking like an old woman in June, so I really feel your pain. My chiropractor and lots of yoga are keeping me (mostly) back pain free. Rest, do everything the wise ones say and, hopefully you’ll be lacing up again soon. Prayers and healing!!!!

Leave a Reply

