I wonder

So, our “local” Fleet Feet store has gotten pretty creative at drumming up business. Last night I got this email….

FleetFeet Sports
Dear Mizunogirl,

On 2/23/2013, you purchased the Women’s Saucony Mirage 3 from us in size 7. We wanted to let you know the Saucony MIrage 4 is now available. Bring in a copy of this email and purchase the New Mirage 4 byFebruary 28th and get a FREE 2 pack of Saucony Moisture Wicking Running socks (a $20 value) with purchase. Coupon UPC is located below.Saucony Mirage

The Mirage 4 features a redesigned upper utilizing FlexFilm and minimal overlays resulting in a seamless feel. The heel cushioning technology is upgraded to PowerGrid and the 4mm platform continues to provide supreme responsiveness with just a touch of guidance.

What our staff is saying:

Korene – FIT Pro and Former Olympian
“A bit more dialed in on the fit than the original, lighter, better heal grab and awesome cushioning. This is perfect for my tempo runs.”

Brendan – Fit Pro and Operations manager “Loved the Mirage 3 which allowed me to put in a couple hundred miles. Light, fast yet supportive. The new power grid enhances the responsiveness under foot with a great hugging mid foot”

 

Stacey and Eric Bartos – Owners

Stacey and Eric Bartos, Owners
FLEET FEET Sports – Orlando
http://www.fleetfeetorlando.com
p.407.772.2233

Bring in a copy of this email or show us the UPC on your smart phone to get your FREE 2 pack of Saucony Running Socks with purchase of the Mirage 4.

Not valid with any other discounts, sales, promotions or PR Rewards. This special is available to email recipient only. Purchase of the Mirage 4 must be made by February 28th to receive this special offer. Returns subject to reduction of Item cost of Socks a $20 Value.

 

Saucony Socks

So nice gimmick.  They obviously realize if I am running I have probably purchased a pair of shoes since that time, and not with them.  What they do not realize is that for whatever reason, the Mirage, which had been my shoe since my surgery had stopped working for me. As I had become a stronger runner my need for any type of stability shoe had ceased.  I ran in these shoes about 5 times, found my foot and ankle highly annoyed and relegated them to “walking the dog”  I didn’t return them because I had run in them several times outside, and the store is kind of far away.

In addition the last time I was in the store I was followed about by a salesperson so much that I was never actually able to browse around.  There is a mixed bag at the store.  Some of the folks are super helpful, others….follow you around.

I’ve moved on and now run in Saucony Kinvara or Cortana…and Nike Lunar Fly for race days and speed work.  I need a new pair of Lunar Fly’s…I wonder if I could still get free socks..

Competitor Magazine Fall Shoe Review

Would that I had the time to drive out there and find out.

Where do you get your shoes?  Do you always return to the awesome local shop that fitted you, or have you been tempted by the great online deals that pop up from time to time?  I think it’s important to support local business, but sometimes I find it hard to support my local running stores because they are offering the same shoe at double the price (though I will always buy from them if they take the time to actually FIT me cause I figure I am paying for the fitting).  In addition, lately, they have not been carrying any of the products I use, going for “what sells” in the nutrition sections…and thus…

It’s been Running Warehouse for me.

8 thoughts on “I wonder

  1. Sometimes Skora’s website has good deals, other times it’s the Clymb, or Leftlane Sports, or something of that nature. Where I live, they don’t have shoe shops. (They do, but it’s god awful far and way overpriced, and they don’t carry my brand.) Did you switch versions of the Mirage? For a while I was in love with the Ronin, then the Ronin 3 came out and they tweaked the toe box some, and I couldn’t run in them anymore. Kind of put me onto the minimal route. Thanks for that Mizuno. Haha.

    • I ran in the original Mirage, tried the mirage 2 which was a true Saucony Mistake…it looks nothing like the original mirage or the mirage 3… and then actually just went to the Cortana… Mizuno has done some massive changes on the mirage, and it seems the Ronin..I like a 4mm drop which is not minimal…because one of my achilles is a wee tiny bit short from an old injury, but have had great success with the nike Lunar flys…

  2. Being that I’ve only been running a short time and ever bought 4 pairs of running shoes in that time, I have always gone to the place that fit me – the only running store in our whole state! They’re VERY helpful and offer a lot of group runs and classes there. They also recently held our RI Road Runners club meeting there and offered 15% discount on anything purchased that night. They also have a loyalty program that you get $25 to spend when you’ve spent $250 (basically 10% discount). I also like to see and touch things, and prefer instant gratification, so I will usually stick with them. I did recently order a pair of Pro Compression socks online and I never buy my clothes there…but I’ll probably always go for shoes.

    That’s definitely an interesting deal they have going on – but I wouldn’t want to go because of the creepers!

    • I agree the see and touch thing is SO missing from online shopping. I’ve used Sierra Trading post which is dirt cheap but I’ve had some real interesting surprises from them!

Leave a Reply

