Rest Week Wrap up

It’s been an unusual week.

This was my first cutback or rest week in quite a while.

In the end, I am not entirely sure I feel 100% rested, which is odd, because wow, the workouts were surely light.

In total for the week I had 35 miles.  Most of it cycle.  This is a stark contract to the 80 miles total I had last week.

During the week, of course I had lots of time to think, catch up on domestic stuff, and mull over life.  Of course, as is likely for someone like me during a cut back week, I tended towards feeling a little bit blue as well.  I’ve experienced this before, so I tried to simply block any negative thoughts and focus on the positive things.  I also gave my sweet doggie several longer than normal walks, which I am not 100% sure he appreciated, it’s pretty hot now, and he’s pretty hairy.

P1020804

Because it was a rest week, i did focus on my diet. I did a pretty good job and was rewarded to see the scale go down 1.6 pounds.  Now..the goal is to maintain and possibly lose 0.4 more this week.

2009_12_Nutrition

Diet is my achilles heel, but for this week, it went pretty well.  So I am encouraged.

Work was full of nasty little surprises daily this week, making it very hard to feel great about what I’m doing, and by the end of the week, I started to have the feeling of, “Complacency”  As in…I’ve done all that I can do, but things are still screwed up, so what now?” I continue to “nose to the grindstone”  but we all agree in the Quality arena of the health care world, things are becoming very difficult.  Of course, being a one person department, I find myself really feeling like an Island…Now, I’m not an island, people have been great and supportive, and well, I still FEEL like an island.  I miss working in the Emergency Department, where even when you hated everyone on a shift, you knew you were still on the team with the haters.

No-Man-Is-An-Island-300x171

SO moving on to start a second set of build.  It will hurt, I have no doubt, and it’s going to be hard, but at least…I’ll be so in the thick of it that I won’t be able to focus on some of the not so pleasant aspects.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

