In the Time of Ebola….

I made it home to Florida today.

This was the most strange trip I’ve had.  I had to really force myself on the plane to go home because I was seeing some needs that were intense.  In some ways it was also a bit disappointing because wow…some people are stupid.

So I did make it all the way to Lagos by myself.  Apparently one of our team members was on my overnight flight, but he was in business class and I was in the back with the Nigerians, and probably due to stress, I slept, even in the “middle seat” for most of the 12 hours of the flight.

We were met by the Hospitals for Humanity people which was a bit nerve wracking as they were meeting 4 of us on different flights so we had a hard time finding each other.  Lagos…is pretty populous and the airport is kind of a swarming mass of humanity, so…not the most fun I’ve ever had.

Whisked off to a very nice hotel.  And quickly ordered up a Malta.

images-3

Malta is a non-alcoholic malted beverage that is pretty ubiquitous all over Africa.  It’s kind of bitter and has a lot of vitamins, minerals, and calories.  No one on my team had ever seen it before…which should have been a bit of a wake up moment for me.  I mean EVERYONE who has something to do with Africa, knows Malta/Maltina.  and Goya now sells it in the US.

We spent the night, and then in the Morning, I had the wonderful moment to meet up with my good friend Iko, who I had worked with the last time I was in Nigeria. a decade has passed.  He looked exactly the same.  He was charming and funny and explained a lot about Biafra.  We then made our way to the airport and hopped a flight to Port Harcourt.

Had no time really in Lagos so here are a few quick shots.

noname-4 noname-5 noname-3

In general Lagos seemed less crazy than before, but I really spent such little time there, that I probably have that impression because the hotel was nice and in a quiet area.

I had to share a room with my teammate. She had not been to Nigeria, but has been to Ghana.  She was such a typical American…packed 4 suitcases, mostly full of nutrition bars.  Unfortunately for her she seemed to state all her observations in a negative way. I think that is just her personality.  I thought she was a nurse and discovered her to be a lab person.  In fact, I was pretty much the only nurse on the trip.  This didn’t bode well at all!!!

So there is my first day in Nigeria.  It was pretty nice to be back.  breaking up the posts because well, I just got home and I’m tired.

 

4 thoughts on “In the Time of Ebola….

  1. Goya has a huge presence in the local supermarkets thanks to my Latino neighbors, so I’ll keep an eye out for Malta. I’m guessing however that it’s more popular in places like New York, which has a far bigger West African community.

    I’ve always wanted to visit Nigeria, as I’m a fan of Nigerian pop and guitar jazz. Which probably makes me a typical American, in that that’s all I know about the local culture. 😦

    International travel is always stressful. To fly out to do what you were doing must amp up the stress by 3x. Still, I’m looking forward to reading about what you saw and did in Nigeria. Hope you get some rest and are able to recover before you have to go back to work.

  2. Vicki Carnahan Tracy says:

    Holly,
    Welcome home. I am still in awe of your African journey. You must be physically and emotionally exhausted.
    I look forward to reading all about your trip. I am thankful you have made it home safe & sound.

    Vicki

Leave a Reply

