2015 is here

I love New Year!  It is a time when we really do reflect, and make some plans and at least for 4-6 weeks charge boldly into new activities with fervor.

keep-calm-and-boldly-go-13

I tend to do better with my resolutions that the average person, but I’m a person who has always loved lists and goals and things to check off.

This year I am going to really have to adjust my expectations and hopefully it will be an epic year in unexpected and delightful ways. I kind of have some doubts.

My first goal is to purchase and move into a home.  I have sort of a revulsion to home ownership, as I purchased my first home during the big home ownership BOOM prior to the BUST.  I then had a big life circumstance change and ended up selling the home right before the bubble truly burst. It was sagging and I essentially broke even.  The mortgage was actually more expensive than rent and my neighbors were difficult to say the least.  So my feelings on home ownership…are definitely negative.

That said, it is now several years later.  Rent in my community is Sky High.  My rental neighbors are for the most part good, but have been getting louder and louder. I have saved some money and now own my car etc, so have little debt.  I discovered if I can qualify to be one of the 20% of people under 55 for a “55+ active community”  I can get a modest home in what should be a fairly quiet community.  If I qualify I should be able to move in June.  I have an appointment to look at one they are newly building this week.  I am really feeling nervous about the whole thing, so I enlisted a friend to come along and smooth the way.  I am continuously reminding myself that the home purchase before coincided with a variety of life challenges that no longer exist, and secondly I was not really able to easily afford the mortgage.  If the mortgage ends up being what it is estimated to be with my current downpayment, this would actually save me some cash which would end up going to HOA and property taxes.  So financially it makes sense. Financially it should not be a hardship (except for the years and years of mortgage…) Emotionally…it is making me nervous.  It is so permanent.  If I fall in love with someone out at the coast, I will still have a home in the central part of the state.

Second goal is to really feel established in my job. I am doing much better there since my leg pain went away.  I just don’t feel fully settled. I think after the 90 day mark passes I will feel lots better.  That will be on February 12 or so.  Nothing to do there, except keep on keeping on.

Third.  I have toyed with this one in the past…State Park Visitation.  I love our state parks, and want to see all 161 of them.  I think I’ve bene to about 4.  So this year I am going to try to do some Manatee Viewing, some Spring swimming, and some hiking.   I’m going to go to one today, after I fully wake up.  Many parks allow dogs and so I will be attempting to bring Teucu-The-wonder-dog with me. I probably will see less wildlife, but it will be fun for him, and frankly some of the parks are a bit secluded and not well visited, I will be safer with the pup.

Florida-state-parks-601x440 VFFALLINGWATERS070913CH11_11381202_8col ichetucknee_spring

Fourth.  Fitness. I typically have a pile of running goals with some fun swim things mixed in.  I am really up in the air about this one.  My main goal is going to get healthy enough that I can participate in fitness as I would like. I have some definite swim goals, and some running goals, but if I have the surgery all will change.  So my goal is to maintain some fitness activities and gain strength.

Beyond that.  There are books to be read.  Friends to spend time with. Experiences to be had that hopefully will be unexpected and pleasant.

What are your plans for 2015?  Anything large on the horizon?

 

2 thoughts on “2015 is here

  1. Good luck on the home purchase! Where I live, I qualify for 55+ active senior housing, by age anyway, but these places tend to be gated communities or condos that cost more than, say, a small house in an urban neighborhood. (Which has issues in themselves—more crime, aging infrastructure, neighbors not always friendly or nice to live near.) Rents here are also beginning to rise again, after being stagnant during the recession, so I’m beginning to feel like I’ll be stuck in the cottage with no kitchen for the rest of my life.

    My resolution however is to manage my money better and start planning for retirement, which, I’m afraid, will never be real retirement like my parents enjoyed. I foresee working at least part-time for as long as I can walk out the door or use a computer. I’m already hearing from many older teachers that they can’t afford to retire—their families/spouses depend on their health insurance and other benefits—so they’ll be working until the school district forces them to take retirement at 70. It’s sad, but maybe we’ll see fewer old people sitting at home bored and slowly sliding into dementia, social isolation, and other health problems. I certainly don’t want to spend my ‘Golden Years’ like that! Happy New Year!

    • I think it’s really sad that people can not afford to retire and I live in fear of that as well, because there are things I really want to do other than push data all day long. I think as long as one is interested in things and open to experiences they won’t be at home bored. Dementia though…can hit us all…regardless of activity. And that for me genetically is of course quite a threat. You remind me that I should call the financial planning guy for the hospital, tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

