let’s continue the saga a bit

So yeah, I am sure the 3 readers are wondering whatever became of intern girl and MG.

It did not end well.

I had a bit of a plan to speak to my coach on Monday and just kind of let him deal with it from there.  Unfortunately when i arrived at the gym on Monday, I got a text from him telling me he had to cancel my session and if I wanted I could have a session tonight.  I agreed and told him I wanted to talk to him about something that was really bothering me.  I should have said, I  need you to ditch the intern.

Because after 20 minutes on the ARC trainer, a device of torture I am sure, she came smiling up at me.  Bless her heart.  I couldn’t really take it, so I got off the machine, told her I needed the coach and walked away.  She looked confused.

Coach and I had a bit of a heated discussion.  Him trying at first to tell me that “this was out of character for her” and he was finding it hard to believe.  That lasted for a minute or two until I pointed out that he had witnessed some of the behavior himself.  I knew it was unintentional, but it didn’t make it any less difficult for me to deal with.  He looked at it then as a learning moment for her, and apologized.  He tends to think that because he was casual with me, she felt she could be as well, and that she essentially believed that I was as much a friend to her as to the coach.  I’ve known the coach for about 3 years, her…like 3 days, but..it is easy to take the lead with someone.  He also tried to find about 20 other reasons for my severe reaction to her.  I don’t know but I know I’m not a fan of her.

So I have no idea what he did with her, but we had our session. It went fine.  Today was another session, which also went OK without intern.  I feel very hesitant though because I hate to make problems.  I hate to be difficult and I hate that I reacted so strongly to someone who essentially means nothing to me. I also hate that it may have undermined her confidence in herself, but I just wasn’t really able to tolerate it.  I also feel that it affected the way my coach works with me, though I frankly think he knows some of it was actually his fault also.  The whole thing was a mess, as he said, “Some people just aren;t good for interns and I should have known that you would have not been the best match up for where you are.

She is done with her internship tomorrow. I wish I had known that, I might have just sucked it up.  It will be an enormous relief to have her gone, because sadly the few times I’ve seen her since I’ve had the same reaction…  If they hire her, we will have to reconcile a bit, but I think that isn’t going to occur…. of course it could to just make my life even more interesting.  Still I just do not see that happening.  I’m sure she will get a great review from the Coach, and I think it will be fantastic for her to move on…move along….

3 thoughts on “let’s continue the saga a bit

  1. I haven’t been around on WordPress recently because of work, so I missed out on the drama with the intern. You have the right to your feelings; yeah, we don’t always have the right to express them too freely, but if someone makes you uncomfortable, you should let her/him know.

    My younger daughter quit a gym because a trainer there made her feel uncomfortable. The trainer was also a young woman; she would hound my daughter as soon as she began working out, and would push her so hard that at one point she felt dizzy and fell off the treadmill. Rather than apologize and show any concern about my daughter’s condition, the trainer began blaming my daughter for having ate a light breakfast before working out. I told my daughter she should have complained to the gym manager about this trainer, but she said she was tired of the place anyway and wanted to go to a gym closer to her workplace. So maybe this trainer is still scaring members away….and your coach should be grateful you provided feedback on his intern.

    Hope you are feeling better! Sounds like you are recovering well?

  2. I don’t know the back story, as I have been out of the loop for a couple days, but I have learned to trust my instincts, my gut feelings, so if you don’t like or trust her, that is the way it is.

Leave a Reply

