The other shoe

Well it dropped… kind of hard.

Teulu the Wonder dog has become ill.

Despite a lot of well meaning reassurance from my friends who are not veterinarians, I know that he is in the process of dying.

Teulu collage.jpg

It has been a decade of interesting experiences for him, he has always been cared for, and really never had a want for anything.  He knew he was loved.

I agonized over the entire situation, and spent some time in denial of what the Vet was telling me.  The change seemed to come suddenly, when I was expecting to see gradual changes. On work days this week, when I came home he seemed somewhat improved…but watching him all day Saturday made me see how he really is not improving, and honestly, is not feeling that great either.  He is very quiet, very still, eating and drinking only a little here and there, and not able to chew well (the chewing muscles are affected by his condition). He will still walk a bit with me, but only if I want to walk.  Otherwise, no interest..this from a dog who 2 weeks ago woke me insisting on a walk at 2 in the morning…

I could go all out, get an MRI, put him through Chemotherapy…but that seems actually quite cruel.  Part of the responsibility of owning an animal is seeing that they are not suffering even at the end, when we are suffering the loss.  I’d much rather lose him than think I let him live without Joy…so that I could stay in a comfortable place.

5 thoughts on “The other shoe

  1. Anne says:

    I have been thinking about you so much since you posted the news he was sick – I suspected that this was where it was going, but just couldn’t find the right words to reach out to you. My heart goes out to you both and I understand how heart-wrenching the decision making is. Sadie was older, but it still happened so fast. I wasn’t ready, but she was showing me that she was.

    Enjoy every moment you can with him and know you have me, and Moo, and alllll the kitties here sending you love and wishes for peace and solace knowing you gave him an awesome life.

  2. It is a difficult decision. I cried hard when I knew it was time to say goodbye to my fur children, but they can’t speak for themselves, except through our hearts. Praying for you and Teulu today at church.

  3. I’m so so sorry. It’s the hardest thing in the world. But, at his age, it would be awful to put him through any of that stuff.
    He had The Perfect Life, and was loved.
    He is such a beautiful boy!

    When I had to say goodbye to my black lab, Reuben, my husband put a picture of him in a frame that said “Thanks for everything. I had a wonderful time!”

    If they could talk, I think that’s what they would tell us.

Leave a Reply

